We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and wonderful experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District to your Saves list
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location and wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to UMW. The bonus was the great downtown location! This is the only one in the historic district and while its a little pricier than the chains off I95 it's totally worth it. Clean comfortable rooms. The only dislike: breakfast in the bistro. Seems to be all heat&eat food. If we stay again we will plan to eat off-site

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    61
    9
    9
    1
See reviews for
47
59
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is perfectly situated in the historic district opposite the vistors centre and within walking distance of quaint shops and interesting restaurants.The restaurant has booths lining two wall and each is equipt with it's own TV. Service in the restaurant was good but there is a limited choice and in view of the many nearby restaurants you might be better eating out. The bedrooms were well fitted out and the beds among the most comfortable we have ever slept in. We had no trouble with the valet parking which was efficient and quick. However, the best thing about the hotel was the staff. We got marooned there due to hurricane Sandy and what could have been an experience to forget was transformed by the friendly helpful service and advice from the front desk and all the staff we encountered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I spent four days there. As there was roadworks outside the hotel access was tricky so i would recommend valet parking and the park is a block away. on arrival at reception there had neen some mix up with the booking system amd i was held up for some time which resulted in my being given an upgraded room on the 4th floor. The room was large, well equipped and spotlessly clean. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The bar was well attended and seemed popular with locals. the staff worked hard to make sure everyone was looked after. The pool is "bijou" and the fitness centre smallish but looks bigger because of the mirrors. It has two running machines, a cross trainer and a cycle machine plus some weights. I used the laundry room on the 4th floor - have plenty of 25c pieces ready before you load up the washer or dryer! There's nothing much to find wrong with the Courtyard apart from nothing to shine your shoes with. Overall a very pleasant place to be and a very convenient base for all the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Very well situated in the heart of the historic district, perfect location for all the quaint restaurants and shops. This is the only hotel located in the historic district which is the reason we selected it as we like to try the local wines with dinner so don't want to drive.
A few of the reviews mention parking as an issue. Either pay for valet or as we did, park right outside on the street where you are allowed 2hr free parking...after 6pm restriction lifted.
The small fitness room was adequate for my wife and our 5yr old loved the small pool.
Our only regret is that we arrived the day of Hurricane Sandy so only a couple of shops and restaurants were open. It's a pretty, interesting town and we would have loved more time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located in the midst of and in walking distance of Fredericksburg Va historic district. Right across the street from the visitors center and the tour trolley. Has restaurant and valet parking

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I just stayed for three nights for a business conference. I was by myself. Cleanest place, new interior, most comfortable beds of any hotel I've ever visited. Fantastic amenities. The fitness center is small, and closes at 11 pm, but it was just me every time I was in there. I loved it.

The staff were all really friendly. There is one lady who was working the bar who, despite being super nice, was slower than anything and took too much time having small talk with other customers and left me hanging when I wanted to place an order. Another hotel staff member had to come and help me.

Bathroom was huge! Loved that.

Parking is in a paid garage over a block away, and that is not very convenient. But valet parking is available. My check in was a bit slow, but that was because some pain in the bum customer was complaining about not being able to get a room at the last minute.

The food is good, and the place is surrounded by great restaurants and within walking distance of some terrific sites and restaurants. Try that Bangkok Wok! If you like Thai food, you will like the place. About three blocks away. And a pleasant walk.

Took plenty of time to sit in the hotel bar in a booth with my own tv that was really comfortable. That was great.

I loved my stay at this hotel. Price is about average. Not too low, possibly a bit high. Average. But the hotel is fun and WAY above average. A well managed hotel! Congrats!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 329 and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a centrally located hotel in the heart of downtown historic district. Easy walking distance to many boutiques and restaurants. The hotel itself was reasonable priced as we booked the room months in advance for my daughter's wedding. The beds are VERY comfortable and that is very hard to find in a hotel.

HOWEVER, I want to warn everyone the valet service is severely lacking. We had several of us registered in our room so there was more than one vehicle using the valet parking. When you turn over your vehicle to the attendant you simply give them your room number. They do not give you a ticket like most valet attendants do. Upon pickup, you simply tell them your room number. Our daughter, had them bring her a car from ANOTHER ROOM, then our car, then they finally admitted they didn't have any more keys with our room number on it and could she please come and identify her keys! She then had to tell them what kind of car she was driving. Any dishonest person simply needs to hang out in their lobby and overhear a guest dropping off a car and a room number. Wait a few hours, as to pick up "his" car and poof...off he can drive in a car compliments of the Courtyard Marriott! They need to either implement a valet ticket system, start asking the guest to identify their car or something. For $12 a day there needs to be more precaution taken.

I discussed the situation with the manager the next morning and she told me it was very unusual for them to have more than one vehicle registered under one room. (I find this hard to believe as there was 7 weddings in the hotel that weekend) and that they had never experienced this before. She did remove 3 of the 5 valet fees from my bill. However, I did talk with another patron of the Courtyard Marriott while waiting for the horse and buggy ride who was also there for a separate wedding and she told me that they too had 3 cars registered under their room. They had also had a problem getting the right car from valet the previous day Guess management forgot that....and supposedly it had never happened before....yeah right!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District

Address: 620 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
#10 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District Hotel Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.