We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern, convenient hotel in the heard of Historic Fredericksburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District to your Saves list
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean, modern, convenient hotel in the heard of Historic Fredericksburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed here for two weeks in June for business and was pleasantly surprised by the overall quality of this hotel. It was very clean with updated amenities and a nice modern appearance. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, and the room was clean and well maintained. My only wish is that there would have been a microwave (there was a mini-fridge)--for extended stays it's nice to have a microwave, but a relatively minor thing given all the positives about the hotel.
The hotel doesn't offer complementary breakfast, but does have a nice cafe/bar area adjacent to the lobby which has a nice selection of breakfast and lunch foods. I thought it was a nice touch that the hotel hosted a weekly happy hour in the bar area for guests. There is a small gym in the hotel which is clean and well maintained, in addition to many running trails in the area. In addition, this hotel is super convenient for anyone looking to explore downtown historic Fredericksburg and the surrounding tourist sites...you step out the door to the downtown historic district with all the quaint shops and restaurants. It's also close to the battlefield and Rappahannock River.
Overall, very nice hotel for business or pleasure....I would definitely stay here again and recommend it for anyone looking to visit the Fredericksburg area to explore the surrounding historical sites.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    61
    9
    9
    1
See reviews for
47
59
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We couldn't be happier with our stay at this Courtyard hotel in charming downtown Fredericksburg. The location is absolutely perfect--right in the middle of such a delightful historic district. Fredericksburg is truly a national treasure and this hotel (though very new and modern) fits right in. The staff was always smiling and extremely helpful. Rooms were comfy and the lobby appealing. Everything was an easy, pleasant walking distance. Breakfast at the Marriott was very good, but don’t miss having lunch or dinner down the street at wonderful Sammy T’s. Save room for dessert at Sammy T's Fro-Yo shop too! What could be better than an after dinner stroll down historic Caroline Street with a cup of self-serve fro-yo?

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing charming Caroline Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed at the Courtyard in June while on a roadtrip up the East Coast. It was a great little town with a lot of character. I'm SO glad we stayed right downtown in the historic area. It was in a great location, the room was comfy and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This is a two year old hotel right in downtown. It was great to walk to restaurants and shops and not be stuck off I-95. The lobby/bar/computer area was excellent. The rooms were immaculate. The indoor pool was a nice touch, small but not crowded. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

What a nice Courtyard Marriott. We stayed here for four days in early June and had a lovely stay. It is located right downtown and easy to walk everywhere - you cannot beat the location.
The rooms are spacious and well appointed with plenty of storage. Nice beds.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I stayed here over the July 16 weekend for a weekend getaway. The hotel is brand new, clean and very nice. I've never seen a Courtyard this nice before. I used points, so I can't comment on cost, but the bistro/bar area looked really nice. The location is perfect - you're already on the main drag for the downtown area, so you can walk out the door and be in the thick of it. Walk to restaurants, bars, and shops. Valet parking is available for $10/day, which seems reasonable to me. If you're in the area visiting the battlefields, I recommend this hotel as a place to rest between sight-seeing trips. We didn't eat or drink in the hotel, but there is a Starbucks available, as well as an in-hotel bar and bistro.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

stayed for two nights for a wedding. The suites are beautiful and spacious. beds are comfortable, decor, bathrooms everything is beautiful. Only problem was staff. Very rude...they need to attend customer service charm school. We did not park in the parking garage and they still charged $10 for parking. They advised will remove the charge but they charged us anyway. We booked a suite with an outside view balcony and we received a room with lobby view...when we advised what we booked we were told "well didn't you get a discount anyway?".....Room service prompt but when we called down for towels we were told "we are busy" and hung up. The hotel is worth the stay but the staff needs serious customer service schooling. I work in customer service and I like to treat people the way I want to be treated and customer service can send anybody to the next hotel. TIGHTEN UP COURTYARD MARRIOT HISTORIC DISTRICT!

Room Tip: Suites are worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District

Address: 620 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
#11 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District Hotel Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.