We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family reunion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn At The Olde Silk Mill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn At The Olde Silk Mill to your Saves list
Inn At The Olde Silk Mill
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   1707 Princess Anne St., Fredericksburg, VA 22401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family reunion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our family recently used this Inn for our family reunion. It is very convenient for out of town tourists. Close to all the sights, shopping, and food. The Inn is very hospitable the staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. That said it is a very old building so the rooms are very small and there were no hair dryers or irons in the room. The was no electric outlet in the bathroom. The staff gave us a supper long extension cord and we were very happy! We had a great visit and lots of fun. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    64
    20
    18
    9
See reviews for
31
83
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We're locals that didn't even know this place existed until we got a half off deal from a local radio station. The room was very elegant and the perfect place to stay and celebrate our anniversary. A little pricey, but is to be expected for what you get. The only down side was the continental breakfast was less than impressive.

Room Tip: The King Edward room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had such a nice room for our two night stay...spacious, clean, flat screen tv, small fridge, and comfy king bed. The pretty patio has small round tables where we sat for a few glasses of our own wine in the evening. The continental breakfast was just that and was acceptable for a two night stay, but meeting others in the dining room is always fun. So, yes, we'd go back again. Fredericksburg has lots to offer and this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Old Silk Mill was wonderful. My wife and I really enjoyed the old world charm. Even better, my wife had a meeting at 1:30pm, well after checkout time and they let us stay in the parlour while we waited. They couldn't do enough for us. On the downside, we were there on a Saturday night and the whole town shuts down at 5 pm. Really! 5pm? Oh well, the Olde silk mill was so nice my wife and I didn't mind retiring early.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Bought my two nights here on a Groupon. Had to pay $15 for taxes at check-in. I hate it when the groupon doesn't cover everything. Staff stayed up late to make sure I got checked in. Room was comfortable but road noise was an issue. Old style tv. Decent continental breakfast. Friendly folks at the hotel. Nice enough and great to experience the history of the place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Olde Silk Mill help set the mood for our visit to Fredericksburg, Va. The Inn is itself has a history and is maintained with a lot of character with beautiful antiques. A wonderful continental breakfast also came with the meal. The staff is courteous and helpful and the location is good for parking and leaving your car then walking to the historic district. Our trip included visits to the battlefields, a brewery, and stores and shops in Old Towne, all in a day and two evenings.I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: FYI. The building was a two-story motor lodge built in the 1930's. Our room was on the second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here via a Groupon offer, but in viewing the regular prices, they are very reasonable. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was pleasant and clean. Breakfast was continental style with no frill but we don't expect that with a continental type breakfast. Although this place wasn't as attractive to our immediate eye when we drove up, the interior is nicely decorated with a very comfortable atmosphere. Nicely located near the historic part of town as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.5 mi away
The Kenmore Inn
The Kenmore Inn
#15 of 43 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
#10 of 43 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#3 of 43 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At The Olde Silk Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At The Olde Silk Mill

Address: 1707 Princess Anne St., Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn At The Olde Silk Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn At The Olde Silk Mill (formerly Fredericksburg Colonial Inn) is under new ownership since May 2007. Many new upgrades, pillow-top mattress, Royal Suites, wireless internet, new breakfast items, warm and inviting staff. Walking distance to Downtown Fredericksburg Historic sites, restaurants, antique stores. Great shopping and dining options! Perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Inn At The Olde Silk Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Olde Silk Mill Hotel Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn At The Olde Silk Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.