We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place worth a visit...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn At The Olde Silk Mill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn At The Olde Silk Mill to your Saves list
Inn At The Olde Silk Mill
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   1707 Princess Anne St., Fredericksburg, VA 22401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely place worth a visit...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a Livingsocial deal and stayed there this past weekend. We were very pleasantly surprised by what a nice stay we had--since the photo of the Inn that we saw after we purchased the deal made it look like a motel-type place. Our room was elegantly appointed and very spacious--and most importantly the bed luxurious, comfy and large. The Inn was also pristinely clean. Breakfast in the morning is a simple affair--nothing special. Would have appreciated some hardboiled eggs, but it was fine as is. A nice gesture is the Innkeeper keeps out coffee and tea 24/7. Staff were very friendly and helpful the entire weekend. Fredericksburg is a great place to visit. Also, there are many nearby restaurants but I want to name 2 we especially enjoyed: (1) "My Place" is a 10 minute drive south on Route1 on Courthouse Road. it's delicious Latin food. (2) "New Orleans Cafe" in downtown. Both were nice places with great food at very reasonable prices. We'll definitely return to the Old Silk Mill when staying in Fredericksburg.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    58
    18
    16
    8
See reviews for
26
76
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Check in staff (Anna) was super informative. Purchased a room deal through LS- got a bottle of wine at check in, appetizer/ dessert coupon and wine tastings/ beer tasting. Good: Beautifully decorated comfy room. Lots of historical info available. Within walking distance to old town. Fridge in room~ Bad: No coffee till 8:00am. Continental breakfast was sparse- stale cereal, fruit, bagels. No staff present at breakfast. Busy street.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Since we enjoyed our first experience at the Inn last year, we decided to spend our Anniversary there this year and take advantage of yet another coupon deal. We were able to reserve the same room that we had last year and again enjoyed two nights of restful sleep. We found the Inn to be pretty much the same as last year. The continental breakfast was a bit more varied this year than was last year and the opening of their reception/banquet facilities was very nice. They've done a beautiful job on the building. We were invited to enjoy the music and swing dancers that were performing the Saturday night that we were there. We definitely plan to go back again next year, but may have to request first floor accommodations because it was quite difficult for my husband to manage the stairs and there didn't appear to be an elevator.

Room Tip: Rooms on the far back side of the building are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great location to downtown Fredericksburg, wonderful customer service and a very charming suite. The winery's in the area was a wonderful experience and the local brewery was just as bit rewarding. Dinner options were plentiful, as we went with one of the Italian Restaurants on meeting street, outstanding meal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

A friend and I spend 2 nights at the Olde Silk Mill. We rented a two-bedroom suite that had a shared bathroom in between the rooms. The beds were comfortable and the Inn was quiet. My room had a sink and mirror in it, in addition to those in the shared bathroom.

We discovered that the toilet in our bathroom did not work on the afternoon we arrived. The staff was not able to address the problem that evening, and there was a mix-up in keys to another suite being left for us after-hours. We ended up needing to use the toilet on the ground floor off the public sitting room for that night and the next morning. (I got a few strange stares as I tromped down there Saturday morning in my sleeping clothes!)

In their defense, the staff was gracious about the situation and gave us a 10% refund on our room for the inconvenience. They also fixed the problem early Saturday so that we had a fully working bathroom for the rest of our stay.

The one small drawback to the Inn is its location. It is slightly off the beaten path, so you will need to walk about 10 minutes to get to the old town area. The walk is a pleasant one, through a mainly residential neighborhood.

The staff was helpful and provided good answers to our questions about things to see and do. Overall, we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great little place on the edge of Historic Fred'burg and easy walking distance to the downtown restaurants. Room was small but well equipped and cosy. Beautiful interior, old fashioned decor and civil war prints on the walls. Self service breakfast is basic but adequate, but there are plenty nearby breakfast options if you'd rather have something prepared. All in all, this is a charming property, and highly recommended for a stay in Fred'burg, but if you are a fan of the plain vanilla experience of the motel chains you may want to stay on the interstate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had several wedding guests booked here and the staff was very helpful in arranging for late arrivals, keeping ghift baskets ready, etc. The hotel is nicely refurbished in a classical style and very comfortable. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn At The Olde Silk Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At The Olde Silk Mill

Address: 1707 Princess Anne St., Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn At The Olde Silk Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn At The Olde Silk Mill (formerly Fredericksburg Colonial Inn) is under new ownership since May 2007. Many new upgrades, pillow-top mattress, Royal Suites, wireless internet, new breakfast items, warm and inviting staff. Walking distance to Downtown Fredericksburg Historic sites, restaurants, antique stores. Great shopping and dining options! Perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Inn At The Olde Silk Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Olde Silk Mill Hotel Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn At The Olde Silk Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.