We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5422 Jefferson Davis Hwy., Fredericksburg, VA 22407 (Formerly Comfort Inn Southpoint)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Easy on off of highway good food clean rooms nice place to be overnight on a road trip. Good part of town also.we travel to myrtle beach every winter and stay overnight. Will make this a regular stop from now on.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint. We really appreciate your comments about our convenient location and the cleanliness of the hotel and guest room. We are thrilled to hear we have won your loyalty. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
7
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I was very surprised at this Holiday Inn Express. It was very clean and the people were extremely nice, especially the lady at the continental breakfast. We only stayed 1 night on our way to Florida, but I would definitely stay again! Just so you know, I am a neat freak when it comes to hotels.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint. It is always a pleasure to hear that our high standards for cleanliness have met with approval from a self-proclaimed "neat freak". We are truly glad to have exceeded your expectations on your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back should your travels permit a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau,Québec
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Room and common areas were clean.
There's a big interior pool.
Room and free breakfast were ok, nothing out of the ordinary.
Is near (or inside ?) a shopping mall, there's a lot of restaurants, service stations and shops at walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint. We really appreciate your comments about our convenient location, great amenities and the cleanliness of the hotel and guest room. We look forward to your next visit to Fredericksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in December and it was wonderful so I booked another stay on this trip. One sign of a good hotel is low staff turn over and I recognized folks from the last visit. Everyone is friendly and helpful and they readily greet you coming and going. Rooms are very nice, spacious and clean. The shining gem of this hotel is the woman who oversees the breakfasts!! Its like having your mother there--assuming you like your mom-- and she chats up the guests, chides you for not eating enough and is just a lovely, happy lady! I will definately stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for returning to the Holiday Inn Fredericksburg Southpoint for another visit. Your repeated business is one of the greatest compliments you can give us and we thank you for it. We are delighted to hear that your second stay lived up to the high expectations you had after your first visit. It is a pleasure to know that all aspects of your stay were top-notch and we look forward to making your next visit even more pleasant than the last!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My family had a good stay at the holiday inn express. And front desk attendant and all staff I encountered were all very professional and friendly! Hotel room was clean and comfortable! It was enjoyable! But I felt the breakfast lacked the holiday inn express standards, I love staying at holiday inn express because they are always so clean and comfortable and always has good breakfast!, this hotel does too! Besides the breakfast, the eggs had a funny tast , they didn't have any of the cinnamon rolls, and they didn't bring anymore bacon out so we didn't get that much, and they ran out of toast and bagels and muffins, and didn't refill, the only good thing was the pancake machine! Iv been at many holiday inn expresses , but this one's has to be the worst breakfast iv seen! But besides the breakfast this hotel was clean and comfortable and with very friendly employees! I will most definitely be staying at the hotel again if I'm in the area!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased that most aspects of your stay were enjoyable and we appreciate your compliments on our cleanliness and great staff. Your comment that you “will most definitely be staying at the hotel again” is one of the greatest compliments you can give us and we thank you for it.
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the selection of foods offered on our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Most of our guests are pleased with the breakfast, as noted in other reviews – we do apologize that the offerings during your stay failed to meet the standards we strive for.
Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The rooms where average, looks like Holiday Inn did not spend much on renovation before taking it over from Comfort Inn. The check-in was fine, Breakfast was not as good as other hotels we have been at, they only had orange and apple, other hotel had melon, banana to offer.
The sausage tasted like microwave prepared and not skillet. The staff looked like struggled to keep up with replenishing the food, unfortunate, looks like on that day they needed help.
There was plenty of rooms at the breakfast area, it still a good idea to split up and save an open table. The cable channel are limited and it was very annoying in that Fox News was not available, I channel surfed and MSNBC as well. I called down and was informed that they did not take that package from Comcast. I am thinking that who-ever decided which package to take from Comcast figured CNN was the middle of the ground. Sure take a leftist new channel and deny folks that was staying Fox News and MSNBC, To me it not up to the hotel to determine which new outlet the folks staying there should watch, they should offer the typical channels one sees in other hotels for news.

Room Tip: choose a lower floor, the elevator are very slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. We want all our guests to have a great stay where everything exceeds their expectations so we are very sorry to hear about the disappointments you encountered during your stay.
As mentioned in other reviews, most of our guests are pleased with our complimentary breakfast buffet. Our hotel strives to adhere not only to internal hotel breakfast standards, but also to those set forth by the franchise in providing a plentiful and fresh buffet. We apologize that the offerings during your stay were not satisfactory.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the cable channel selection. We take all guest feedback very seriously and are in the process of researching the possibility of expanding the selection of channels we offer. Thank you for caring enough to provide us with feedback.
Thank you for being our guest. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

After been stuck in traffic and having a stressful day i was greeted at the holiday inn express like i have know them for years let me tell you !!!! Xiushka And Mary war very pleasant with such a speedy check in and it seems like they knew their jobs very well their so wonderful and amazing young lady's they need to recognize for such a good job ! after seedling in our room we asked them for some restaurants around the area and they both agreed on "el charro ! " and that was the best Mexican restaurant i have eaten in!

Room Tip: if your around frederickburgs stay in this hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. It is our goal to welcome each of our guests as if they were a guest in our own home and it is a pleasure to hear that you were welcomed in that way upon arriving after being stuck in traffic.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the friendly service of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint

Address: 5422 Jefferson Davis Hwy., Fredericksburg, VA 22407 (Formerly Comfort Inn Southpoint)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express ® Fredericksburg Southpoint, located just off of I-95 at exit #126 on Jefferson Davis Highway.Our hotel offers a convenient location near all of the Fredericksburg attractions! Civil War enthusiasts can explore Chancellorsville Battlefield, Fredericksburg Battlefield, Wilderness Battlefield and Spotsylvania Battlefield. Other Fredericksburg attractions include George Washington’s Ferry Farm and Kenmore Plantation. Located between Washington D.C. and Richmond , our hotel is the perfect stopping point for exploring these great cities! Shopping enthusiasts will enjoy exploring Old Town Fredericksburg, with more than 100 boutiques and art galleries. Central Park offers more than 200 retailers and a movie theater. Wine, Hops and Spirits lovers can live it up at A. Smith Bowman Distillery, Blue and Gray Brewing Company and Lake Anna Winery. Recreation nearby includes Lake Anna State Park and Lee’s Hill Golf Club. Liberty Lanes Bowling Alley and Comedy Club are just ½ mile from hotel. Kings Dominion is just 29 miles from our hotel. Our Fredericksburg hotel is near businesses such as the University of Mary Washington, A-T Solutions, UPS and Providence Service Corporation. We are also within 35 miles of the North Anna Power Station, Quantico Marine Base and Fort A.P. Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Southpoint Hotel Fredericksburg
Comfort Inn Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.