We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5422 Jefferson Davis Hwy., Fredericksburg, VA 22407 (Formerly Comfort Inn Southpoint)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 42 hotels in Fredericksburg
New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very clean room, comfortable bed and pillows. Very adequate breakfast in a clean area. Only issue we had was we checked in on a busy Saturday evening with only one person handling check ins. Took a very long time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
1
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got this hotel through a Priceline bid, as we were just driving through. The location is great - lots of dining options within walking distance. The room was comfortable, and the breakfast was the usual continental fare. The pool was large. What we remember the most about this visit, however, is the two ladies at the front desk. We were in and out all evening, and every time we walked by, they greeted us like old friends. They were especially kind to our daughter, who has autism. It was very nice to feel at home in a place that was so far away from our actual home.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write about your experience. I have shared your compliments with our front desk staff and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We pride ourselves on welcoming each of our guests just as we would a guest in our own home and it is great to hear that is how you felt while here. It is also a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, comfortable rooms and complimentary breakfast buffet.
On behalf of the entire Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint team, thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived at the Holliday Inn after a 5hr trip fron New Jersey,
we were greeted by a very freindly staff, and continued through out our stay.
Rooms were clean and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. A few nearby
strip malls provided an abundence of ethnic meal choisces. Unfortunatly we had
to cut our stay by one day and when we checked out at 4 in the afternoon, we were not
charged any extra fees.Yes we will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind review! We strive for excellence and appreciate you taking the time to let us know what we did right. We are glad to our convenient location suited you. We are also pleased to hear that you plan to stay with us again and we look forward to providing you with the same pleasant accommodations and great service on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came to town for work and have stayed in many like this location, let's just say, I'm very impressed. Staff was curtious and rooms were clean, breakfast was good and I slept like a baby. I would recommend anyone venturing that direction stay in this hotel cause you will enjoy it. Great job.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
On behalf of the entire Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg team, thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience. We set high standards for product, service and cleanliness and it is very gratifying to hear that we met those standards during your stay. You kind words are especially meaningful coming from someone who travels as much as yourself and certainly knows what to expect. We hope we have won your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here for a night on our way back from SC. Booked online in advance. No choice but to select a smoking room. As soon as you stepped out of the elevator onto the floor, you can smell very heavy smoking. The room had the same effect. Stayed in smoking room before in other hotels and never had it so bad. Surely use of air freshener would help.
Check-in clerk, Matthew, was efficient and thanked me twice for being a Priority member which was appreciated.
Breakfast was good. That particular morning it was quite crowded as there was a large group staying there but there was enough seating.
Unfortunately, we left a small bag we used to house our GPS and EZ Pass device behind. We have the GPS device with us but the EZ Pass device was in the bag. We made the discovery after almost three hours on the road. Called the hotel and Matthew answered the phone. He managed to retrieve our bag from the room. Asked him to please arrange to have the items returned to us and gave him a credit card number to use to pay for the dispatch charges.
After a few days, called to follow up on the status....the person on the other end of the line couldn't offer any info and asked that we speak to the sales director. Was put to a voice mail, left a message for her to call back but never receive the call.
Called again a few days later and it was useless as well.
Emailed Customer Care and never received a reply.
A charge showed up on the credit card statement that a dispatch service was used. But after 2 weeks the items never showed up.
Not penalizing the hotel itself on the review. Customer care service can be better.

Room Tip: Many shops and restaurants in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for trusting the Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint with your hotel needs. We are grateful for the detailed feedback you have provided. Our goal is to improve whenever presented with an opportunity to do so. I am so very sorry that all aspects of your stay were not top notch. We have high standards for cleanliness of our guest rooms, both smoking and non-smoking, and are disappointed to hear that the smell in your room was so strong. I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping department.
I have asked our general manager to look into your lost items. I hope that by now they have found their way back to you.
Again, we truly appreciate your honest and detailed feedback as this helps us to improve the experience for our future guests. We hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with an exceptional experience on your next trip through Fredericksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I had made my reservations a month ago yet my room was not ready and it was 5PM. I was moved to another which was okay. Two staff members at desk were pleasant but distracted by paperwork. I had a first room which was noises to say the least. It wasn't the worse experience and certainly not the best. Breakfast was good.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Rylie17,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you liked our breakfast and found our staff pleasant. On the other hand, I apologize for the inconvenience the service you received may have caused. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

For a good location with helpful staff and a big dining area, stay here. Note, though, that you'll also find the emerging, unappealing brown and aqua color scheme with ambiguous, square block paintings (?). Our late-night arrival got a warm greeting from the staffer whose screen told him a sofa bed was in 3 rooms we tried--not--but who went to the trouble of providing a roll-away bed which only fit in the entrance way by the bathroom. The room seemed clean, the breakfast was a touch above average, the indoor pool quite nice, and the kitchen help was attentive. The price was reasonable. So: an acceptable mix. Thanks for noting if this was helpful--I hope it was.

Room Tip: Note long hallways, but elevators on both ends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. Our convenient location, helpful staff and above average amenities do stack up to be a great value for travelers in our area and we appreciate your comments on them. We are glad we were able to provide you with a rollaway bed to suit your needs, but we do apologize for the confusion on the sofa beds. On behalf of the entire Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint team, we are grateful to have had you stay with us and look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Fredericksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Southpoint Hotel Fredericksburg
Comfort Inn Southpoint Hotel
Comfort Inn Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Comfort Inn
Address: 5422 Jefferson Davis Hwy., Fredericksburg, VA 22407 (Formerly Comfort Inn Southpoint)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express ® Fredericksburg Southpoint, located just off of I-95 at exit #126 on Jefferson Davis Highway.Our hotel offers a convenient location near all of the Fredericksburg attractions! Civil War enthusiasts can explore Chancellorsville Battlefield, Fredericksburg Battlefield, Wilderness Battlefield and Spotsylvania Battlefield. Other Fredericksburg attractions include George Washington’s Ferry Farm and Kenmore Plantation. Located between Washington D.C. and Richmond , our hotel is the perfect stopping point for exploring these great cities! Shopping enthusiasts will enjoy exploring Old Town Fredericksburg, with more than 100 boutiques and art galleries. Central Park offers more than 200 retailers and a movie theater. Wine, Hops and Spirits lovers can live it up at A. Smith Bowman Distillery, Blue and Gray Brewing Company and Lake Anna Winery. Recreation nearby includes Lake Anna State Park and Lee’s Hill Golf Club. Liberty Lanes Bowling Alley and Comedy Club are just ½ mile from hotel. Kings Dominion is just 29 miles from our hotel. Our Fredericksburg hotel is near businesses such as the University of Mary Washington, A-T Solutions, UPS and Providence Service Corporation. We are also within 35 miles of the North Anna Power Station, Quantico Marine Base and Fort A.P. Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.