We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An acceptable mix” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint

Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5422 Jefferson Davis Hwy., Fredericksburg, VA 22407 (Formerly Comfort Inn Southpoint)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“An acceptable mix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

For a good location with helpful staff and a big dining area, stay here. Note, though, that you'll also find the emerging, unappealing brown and aqua color scheme with ambiguous, square block paintings (?). Our late-night arrival got a warm greeting from the staffer whose screen told him a sofa bed was in 3 rooms we tried--not--but who went to the trouble of providing a roll-away bed which only fit in the entrance way by the bathroom. The room seemed clean, the breakfast was a touch above average, the indoor pool quite nice, and the kitchen help was attentive. The price was reasonable. So: an acceptable mix. Thanks for noting if this was helpful--I hope it was.

Room Tip: Note long hallways, but elevators on both ends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. Our convenient location, helpful staff and above average amenities do stack up to be a great value for travelers in our area and we appreciate your comments on them. We are glad we were able to provide you with a rollaway bed to suit your needs, but we do apologize for the confusion on the sofa beds. On behalf of the entire Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint team, we are grateful to have had you stay with us and look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Fredericksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
7
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elon, North Carolina, usa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here on our way home from DC. Checkin was fast and efficient. Room was clean, comfortable. Heater worked as it should. Breakfast was okay. Everything worked as it should and we found this hotel to be a great value. The location is good too with a short drive off exit 126 from I-95. There is no noise from the highway, however. A number of places to eat are located a walk or short drive away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint and thank you for this 5-star review. We really appreciate your comments about our efficient staff, cleanliness, convenient location and great value. We value you as a guest and look forward to your next visit to Fredericksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stopped at this gem after a long road trip. Front desk staff were courteous and accommodating despite the late call( after midnight on a Friday night) seeking a room to crash in for a few hours.Was pleasantly surprised when we arrived to find a well appointed lobby and very clean,lovely and large guest room.Although we did not take advantage of the free breakfast,it was nice to know it was available.Free wifi,beautiful pool,nice business's center and the entire facility was spotless and well decorated! Easy on and off 95.... Overall, it was a very unexpected pleasure!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We want all our guests to feel relaxed and at home here at the Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint and your comments are a seal of approval to our endeavors and we thank you for taking the time to share this experience on Tripadvsior. We look forward to providing you with the same top-notch service and accommodations the next time your travels bring you to our area. We hope that next time you will join us for our complimentary breakfast buffet - it's a guest favorite!
Again, thank you for being our guest and for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The hotel staff was hospitable. It was a more than decent place to crash in the middle of the night. It was a good exit to get off at because there were lots of places to eat. The rooms were clean. I was not disappointed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint. We really appreciate your comments about our team members’ friendliness, convenient location and the cleanliness of the hotel and guest room. We look forward to your next visit to Fredericksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

the remodel results are tremendous! we enjoyed our one night stay here very much. the front desk staff were courteous, the breakfast attendant was friendly and the rooms were clean. there are tons of eating options within walking distance to the facility. one minor issue, the only issue, is that wifi on my ipod touch would drop from between 1-2 bars in our room on the first floor and I struggled with connectivity a bit. other than that, thumbs up.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments on our recent renovations! We are very excited about all the upgrades to our facility. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your compliments on our fine staff, great breakfast, clean rooms and convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Fredericksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint

Address: 5422 Jefferson Davis Hwy., Fredericksburg, VA 22407 (Formerly Comfort Inn Southpoint)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express ® Fredericksburg Southpoint, located just off of I-95 at exit #126 on Jefferson Davis Highway.Our hotel offers a convenient location near all of the Fredericksburg attractions! Civil War enthusiasts can explore Chancellorsville Battlefield, Fredericksburg Battlefield, Wilderness Battlefield and Spotsylvania Battlefield. Other Fredericksburg attractions include George Washington’s Ferry Farm and Kenmore Plantation. Located between Washington D.C. and Richmond , our hotel is the perfect stopping point for exploring these great cities! Shopping enthusiasts will enjoy exploring Old Town Fredericksburg, with more than 100 boutiques and art galleries. Central Park offers more than 200 retailers and a movie theater. Wine, Hops and Spirits lovers can live it up at A. Smith Bowman Distillery, Blue and Gray Brewing Company and Lake Anna Winery. Recreation nearby includes Lake Anna State Park and Lee’s Hill Golf Club. Liberty Lanes Bowling Alley and Comedy Club are just ½ mile from hotel. Kings Dominion is just 29 miles from our hotel. Our Fredericksburg hotel is near businesses such as the University of Mary Washington, A-T Solutions, UPS and Providence Service Corporation. We are also within 35 miles of the North Anna Power Station, Quantico Marine Base and Fort A.P. Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Southpoint Hotel Fredericksburg
Comfort Inn Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.