We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Budget Motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge South

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge South to your Saves list
Econo Lodge South
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5321 Jefferson Davis Hwy., Fredericksburg, VA 22408   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #40 of 43 hotels in Fredericksburg
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Decent Budget Motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Looking for budget motel in Fredericksburg and found the Econo Lodge (can't see motel from road, large sign and entrance immediately after Super 8). Motel is older, room clean, a bit of a smell like many motels but nothing to make me leave, comfortable bed, safe area with many food choices. Free breakfast was a pleasant surprise, hot pancakes and/or eggs, cereal, and other regular continental breakfast items served in a large clean area with plenty of tables. Front desk staff very nice and professional. Room including tax was $52. Not the Hilton, but an acceptable budget motel. We looked at the outside of 2 nearby budget motels, Motel 6, Super 8; Econo Lodge had the best appearance.
Note: We first stopped at the Days Inn South across the street, actually checked in even though gut said no (always listen to the gut), room so smelly could not stay, large white flecks on carpet (paint chips??), dirty bathroom, left immediately returned to office didn't want another room, was told credit card would not be processed....guess what, I was charged but one way or another will have it credited.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    11
    12
    26
See reviews for
16
10
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

When I made our reservation at this hotel, I wasn't expecting much since the price was so good, but our stay was ghastly. There was an overpowering stench in the room that was nauseating, and the safety lock on the door was broken. This was especially troubling because guests were being assigned to rooms that were already occupied. In the few minutes I was at the front desk, three people came in with this complaint. I requested another room, and the very courteous desk clerk obliged me, but the second room stank just as badly. Between the highway noise (the hotel backs to I-95), worrying about someone accidentally trying to enter our room during the night, plus the horrible smell, I knew we wouldn't be able to rest, so we left and found another hotel. We would have saved money if we had booked our room at a quality hotel in the first place.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

I checked in, September 2008 and checked out May 2009. I stayed 8 months there due to the staff and the price was excellent. The management set up my room with a computer work station, Coffee maker and other amenities. The room was large and comfortable.
The service was great and the office staff was a pleasure to deal with. This hotel was convenient to restaurants, Service stations, the Interstate, Shopping as well as attractions.
I really enjoyed my stay there and I would stay there again, and recommend this Econo Lodge to travelers for one night stay or extended stay.

Patrick: email: amw_mbr@yahoo.com

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYandFlorida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Driveway is easy to miss but worth finding for a quiet location and everything was as it should be.
This is the cleanest we've experienced in this price catagory and even in many above it and that includes our stay here last year!
We did have dogs last year and the room was still satisfatory considering that .
I joined tripadvisior just in order to leave compliments to the management and staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Stayed at the Econo Lodge Fredericksburg overnight during a trip around Virginia and D.C. Room was clean and service at front desk was great. Area was safe and I had no concerns.

Will stay here again if I return to the area.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Checked in late night. TV was not working....did not bother....because I was just their to sleep...get up in the morning...take a shower and get the hell out of there. Surprise..surprise...toilet flush did not work too in the morning. Went to front desk to ask for a change in room so that I can I can at least use a toilet before I check out....the front desk attendant declined saying that since I am due to check out in 3-4 hours, they cannot change my room even if the toilet flush in my room did not work. I finally ended up calling choice hotels 1-800 number and they were of little help until I started getting a little pissed off. Finally after an yelling contest I was given another room. Bad experience over all. I realize it is a budget hotel...but that means at least a working toilet flush and a tv which this hotel did not have.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allenproperties, Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review, June 12, 2009
We accomodate many guests each evening and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests. I want you to know that we take the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests seriously. Please be assured that the issues you've raised have been addressed, and the appropriate action has been taken. Please accept my apologies for the inconvience that you experienced during your stay. Again I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.

Regards,
C. Armstrong
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumberland, md
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

A little dingy, but appeared that they were trying to keep it clean. Could use some rennovation. Based upon other negative reviews, was pleasantly surprised it was as nice as it was. Okay for the solo business traveler looking just for a night's sleep. Beware charge for safe in room. It will be automatically added, unless you request it removed at checkout.

  • Liked — Good rate
  • Disliked — Surprise safe charge.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeHampton, Owner at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review, May 8, 2009
Thank you for your comment regarding your stay at our hotel. We value comments from our guests and try to use those comments to improve our hotel.

I am sorry about the fact that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We try hard to offer clean safe accommodations at the best value in the area.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South

Address: 5321 Jefferson Davis Hwy., Fredericksburg, VA 22408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 43 hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge South 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Hotel Fredericksburg
Econo Lodge Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.