We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms Clean but Atmosphere Seedy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge South

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge South to your Saves list
Econo Lodge South
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5321 Jefferson Davis Hwy., Fredericksburg, VA 22408   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #40 of 43 hotels in Fredericksburg
Maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Rooms Clean but Atmosphere Seedy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The rooms were clean, cheap and dog friendly. That is the best you could say about it. The staff were friendly to the adults but not very friendly to our teenagers. The staff was also not very helpful. First, I had called when we booked to request rooms side by side - when we arrived they were not, even though there was an empty room between us. When we went to have that fixed they had already rented the room between us! The refrigerator in our room didn't work. We tried to get extra towels and kept getting the run around and made to feel like a criminal! Also the atmosphere was very seedy. Many of the people there seemed to be residents. The breakfast had an egg and pancake station but little else. The donuts in the picture didn't exist, just two cereals and toast. That was it. No bagels or english muffins or pastries. Definitely not the quality we are used to with Choice Hotels. If we hadn't been using reward points and had a dog I would have changed hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    11
    12
    26
See reviews for
16
10
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This motel seems more like a rooming house. There seemed to be lots of permanent guests, not of the highest quality. They didn't honor my confirmed reservation for a smoking room. The neighborhood was somewhat creepy. I left without staying, as the whole place made me uncomfortable (and I'm not at all a scaredy cat)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was the worst hotel ever! Pulled in late from a long distance drive, forced to stay because of mon refund policy, woke several times to "live ins" fighting, screaming and threatning each other.final arguments at 4am, we packed up and were out by 4:30am! Stay away from this hotel, we will NEVER stay at any choice hotels again especially Econo Lodge!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Mines, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

whenever we travel south on 1-95 we almost always stop here.the price is always excellent(somtimes half the cost of other hotels nearby) and the free breakfast is good.the hotel looks run down but it's very clean and good for an overnight stop with no frills.very closeby are many places to eat as well as walmart to do any shopping.

Room Tip: we always ask for a non smoking king room on the first floor as you can park just outside your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Would not recommend this establishment!! When we got to out room there was coffee stains on the counter left from the cleaning crew. The coffee pot had to be cleaned to be used. They state “Hi Speed Internet” in there advertisement. They have a different perception of “Hi Speed” than I do. You could only get one bar of wireless and at a download speed of about 12 mps. Not even enough to get on a website let alone check mail. When I plugged my laptop into the receptacle sparks flew out of it so I tried another.

When I went to breakfast I wanted the “Hot Breakfast with eggs cooked to order” that is also advertised. I was surprised when I asked for 3 eggs over light and was given only 2 eggs. I inquired about the mix up and was told you only get 2 eggs per person total and 1 pancake. What a rip off that was. Your other breakfast food option was either toast or cereal (2 kinds). No fruits, pastries etc. The only drinks available were juice and coffee. They also do not allow you to take breakfast food to your room as there are signs all over the eating area stating it. Save your money!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Booked hotel on telephone, without checking reviews. Mistake!! This place is in a poor location, and dirty. Shady characters hanging around, would not stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011 via mobile

I'm a contractor who travels and stays at hotels frequently and I have been here for 5 months and am so glad that finally I start a new contract elsewhere! We chose this hotel originally because of the great weekly price but little did we know what we were getting ourselves into and wish we had read the reviews! This place is a total dump! There's only 2 yes 2 good things about here! 1 great location. 2 the hired and only hired help are polite and helpful! The foreign family that own, live, and work here are rude and disrespectful, and have no customer service skills! The hotel has drugs and drug dealers! Multiple times with undercover agents doing busts! Cops in and out one a regular! The foreign family that owns the hotel bang on your door obnoxiously before checking out to harass you about collecting the next night or week pay! Same family who does all the house cleaning ignore the do not disturb sign barge in on you without knocking! Twice was in the shower and was walked in on! They half speak English and are very rude! Actually asked housekeeping to vacuumed the floor and was handed the vacuum to do it myself! Rooms are filthy, stained on everything! Mold in the a/c units! Cockroaches and spiders! Ants and other insects! Completely disgusting! Have been here for 5 moths which is $5,000.00 and still disrespectful! Very trashy, filthy and disgusting and so thankful to be leaving! All though they have the cheaper rates not worth $5 a night! I would and will never recomend or stay in this dump again! Even one of their own family members was being patted down by undercover cops! Nothing better than walking out your door to 8 cops patting down the owners of the hotel! Rooms stink with horrible odors and awful sights for a room! Complete disregard and respect to their customers! Be warned STAY AWAY! SAVE YOUR MONEY OR SPEND THE EXTRA ELSEWHERE! HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE! And just so you know the change their rates for certain people! 242.00 was our weekly rate! Some less and some more for other people! People like this is what gives places a bad name! Actually had to call the Better Business Bureau and Health Department! This tells you how bad it is here! We hope you take this warning serious and stay away! Just read the other reviews!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South

Address: 5321 Jefferson Davis Hwy., Fredericksburg, VA 22408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 43 hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge South 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Hotel Fredericksburg
Econo Lodge Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.