We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
2805 Plank Rd, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-4947
540-548-3844
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #173 of 357 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great service, great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have been to this location twice now and had great service and food both times.
The first visit was on a Friday night. It was crowded and loud. If you are looking for a quiet atmosphere this isn't the place. Every 30 minutes the waitstaff do a line dance and try to get customers to join in. They are not pushy about it, but very entertaining.
The second visit was on a Thursday night and wasn't near as crowded or loud.
The food was served hot and delicious both visits. The crab was cooked perfectly so it could easily be cracked out. I have been so many places that the crab sat too long in the water and became mush. Not at Joes! The crawfish platter is yummy too!
If you get a chance, the jalapeño crab balls are to die for!! The adult beverages are not for someone looking for a weak drink! Beware :) They are delish and strong.
We will be returning for sure!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    25
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Didn't have the special but a great time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Kept seeing commercials for a limited time offering of Lobster Pot Pie. Was supposed to be available until the 10th so I made sure I was there before only to be told they didn't have it. We had waited for a seat so we decided to stay. Food was great and the service even better. Been some years since I ate at Joe's so I had forgotten the raucous staff entertainment. Had a good time and a quality meal at a reasonable price.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“dining outside is great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Went with my son and granddaughter. He eats more, hence longer, and I could play with my granddaughter in the play area. Food was ample and tasty.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy love me some seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I went there for the first time. Mmmmmm all I can say. Pretty good deal. Service was terrific, we had Rosetta as our server she was amazing and very personable. So when you go ask for her. Enjoy Karen B

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Anna
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Surprise birthday party!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Friends and family helped me celebrate my 70th birthday. When I arrived Jeff, the manager, greeted me and said he had a booth for me... I was still clueless, my friends yelled surprise and then we were seated at a prepared table.
I ordered my favorite, the lobster and crab steam pot. The lobster is perfectly prepared so all that you need to do is pick the tail meat out and dunk it in the melted butter, delicious. I ordered the steam pot with the Old Bay seasoning so the sweet crab meat with the spice was great tasting. Excellent service, hot and tasty food and as always the manger, Jeff, checked to see if everything was going well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.