We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great quiet place for meeting and coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Panera

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Panera
299 Harvard St., Brookline, MA
617-738-1909
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 171 Restaurants in Brookline
Price range: $5 - $10
Restaurant details
Shrewsbury
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This is a great quiet place for meeting and coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Paneras in any neighborhood or location is a consistent coffee and bagels-pastry-our preference to Dunkin Donuts---free refills too!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The only good thing they have is outside seating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Many students hanging out with a drink for all day long. I have tried almost half of their food in the menu and nothing is special and overpriced. The only thing that you might like is the outside seating of this cafe with a drink. Even their muffins or cookies is not edible.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Good value, nice atmosphere, good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We sat in the front of the cafe where the windows had been taken out so were were on the street. There were comfy chairs and a relaxed atmosphere, lots of people on their own with their laptops taking advantage of the free wi-fi.
From the menu of soups, sandwiches and salads we chose some soups served in a bread loaf which we found tasty and fun. The pastries looked rather unappetising and cheap , the cinnamon cake was Ok, a bit dry. Had a delicious peach smoothie. Total for the four of us was just over 30 dollars and we had a bag of leftover rolls and apples etc to take home so excellent value.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“oh,well, if you need to sit and do email”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

this is one of a chain of almost-adequate cafe/pseudo-bakeries.
All breads/pastries seem to come from a central source: uniform
and a little better than WonderBreads. Decent coffee. Poor soups
and salads.
Advantages--free wifi. Self-serve, which means you can sit as long as you want in reasonably comfortable chairs. In summer the front windows disappear. You're nose-close to a busy
commercial street. If this setting pleases you, have some
coffee and a half sandwich and be happy.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really nice place to linger over breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is a chain, but the interior space is very roomy and comfortable with lots of booths, comfortable chairs, wifi, and outdoor seating. I go here because Its a comfortable, casual place to bring my laptop and plan my day or meet my friends or business associates. The service is very friendly and efficient and you can stay as long as you like. I like it best for breakfast but lunch is good too. The egg on ciabatta bread is cooked to order and is very good as are the coffees, breads, and other sandwiches.The salads and soups are average but perfectly fine, what you'd expect from a chain.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panera also viewed

 
Brookline, MA
 

Been to Panera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.