We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't let them put you on the ground floor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Boston Brookline

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Boston Brookline to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Boston Brookline
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Beacon Street, Brookline, MA 02446   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Brookline
MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“don't let them put you on the ground floor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

I stayed here for 2 nights with my teenage sons. On the plus side, the hotel is located in an ideal spot - in an safe residential area about 2 miles from Kenmore Square. Coolidge Corner has tons of interesting little shops, bookstores, restaurants, and one of the best art movie houses around (Coolidge Corner Theatre). the hotel is directly in front of a trolley stop to downtown.

Here's my story... I asked for a 2 room suite. Granted I paid for this stay with points, but that should not matter. They put us in a dank & uncomfortable room that was right across from their gym and swimming pool. There was something wrong with the plumbing so everytime someone flushed a toilet or ran the water our walls shook. The rooms were so small we could not fold out the rollaway bed. I called the front desk and they acted like they had never heard these complaints.

The next morning I went to the lobby and waited until some other guests were within ear shot. I told my story in a loud voice and voila they moved us to the 6th floor, to a sunny, spacious, clean set of rooms with a big screen TV. On my way back from Coolidge Corner one evening I started talkign with a woman who used to be a conciege. She told me she placed long-term visitors in beautiful suites on the second floor of the hotel - right above the check in desk. Caveat emptor...

  • Liked — decent once they moved us to a cleaner room without water problems
  • Disliked — dank small suite, unresponsive staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    127
    92
    42
    32
See reviews for
135
71
30
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

I've stayed at this particular Holiday Inn on and off for the last 3 years, since my father is being treated at Brigham and Women's. I've always had a great stay at this hotel! The staff is friendly, and they have made a lot of improvements since I was last here 3 months ago. They are renovating the rooms gradually, and the new furniture and wall coloring is gorgeous and modern. The Front Desk staff are amazing, corteous, and very helpful. We were always greeted with a smile.

There is an indoor pool and a jacuzzi that I have enjoyed using this month. The free wireless internet is also very convenient, and I was told that they are in the process of building a business center where the Starbucks used to be.

They are very much doing a lot of renovations overall, and had changed managements. I have seen new faces, and the service have definitely improved since I first started coming here. I do hope that folks give this place a chance.

  • Liked — Friendly, accomodating staff who always made sure we were happy with our stay when things go wrong.
  • Disliked — Eugene, the Bartender who works there a couple of days a week. Very rude, arrogant, and condescending
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

This was the most disgraceful hotel ( if you could call it that) that we have stayed at . The staff was extremely unprofessional and rude. In fact dont' ask the bartender ( Guisseppe) for anything ..he just assumed would tear your head off !
He sounded like a monster or better yet ,Frankenstein ..he simply shook his head and grumbled ARRRGHH!! when we asked if the kitchen was still serving food.

The room was dirty and reaked with the smell of curry and smoke . There were someone elses dirty clothes left on the bathroom floor whn we arrived. There was no washcloths left so we needed to ask for some -2 to be exact ,since there were 2 of us .

The bathroom in itself was ridiculously small and completely unsafe . The toilet was aprox only 12 inches from the floor and needed to be aggressively handled to flush it properly ( up then down then up again wit hthe flusher-just plain weird. The shower was inside a small squared basin and the place was certainly challenging to maneuver around in due to its odd size and shape.


We could not imagine who would have approved such a poor bathroom construction . The side entrance doors were broken and none of the security sytems worked. Anyone could literally walk in off the street , Which apparantly has happened and it was overlooked, The site of the broken glass at each side doorway gave me the creeps. This place should be condemmed !
Never again !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

Third time we stayed at this Holiday Inn. We received the "medical rate" due to a needed visit to an area hospital. The room was very clean and comfortable. Was quiet. Staff is friendly and very courteous. Only thing I wish they'd do is to air condition the general lobby area. Very hot and humid especially in July. Parking is free with the medical rate and they offer shuttle service to area hospitals. Will come back!

  • Liked — Clean room and staff.
  • Disliked — Bad wireless connectiion. Kept dropping signal and was slow when it worked.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

This is a really worn out hotel. It is shabby and sad and has no ambiance. The pool is in the middle of the hotel ground floor and the smell from it permeates throughout. The Reception area and bar are totally depressing. Most of the rooms have no outside windows so there is no natural light. While bedding and towels are very nice and rooms are kept clean they are really in need of total refurbishment - especially the bathrooms. The location is good but that is about all that can be said in its favour.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

This is an old Holiday Inn, tired, but rather refreshing in that it isn't cold stainless steel and glass. Our room on the 1st floor was quite a hike from the front lobby, but quiet. It opened out onto the hall that faces Beacon Street, yet the room was very quiet. Shower not the best configuration in the world, but useable. Food in the Atrium was very good, and not all that exepnsive. All of the staff was terrific and very helpful, especially the folks at the front desk. Everyone smiled! If you take into consideration that your day is spent outside the hotel, its not all that bad. Room had two full sized beds, with really nice bedding. TV stations offered are very limited, and the AC could use a boost. Felt quite safe in the neighborhood, which is a plus.

All in all, a decent hotel for those who spend their waking hours somewhere other than the hotel.

  • Liked — Location - close to where I needed to be.
  • Disliked — Smell of pool chlorine through out first floor
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

This was our third year in a row staying at this hotel as part of a large group attending an event at Fenway Park. The room and property were clean and nice enough looking, and the location is great. We have been less than impressed with the service. Three years in a row we have booked months in advance and requested adjoining rooms and three years in a row this has not happened, though the room we were in did connect to the room next door. When we asked at check-in whether we had the adjoining rooms, the clerk said no and seemed annoyed. We also requested a crib when we reserved, months in advance, and were told that there were no cribs available and no hope of getting one. When I asked if there was a suggestion as to where my 17-month-old could sleep, I was met with a bored sounding "No, ma'am." The second day we asked early in the morning and were told that we would definitely have a crib that night. By 5 M when a crib had not appeared we were told they were "working on it." At 6:30, after much back and forth, a crib finally appeared. Throughout all of this, no one at this hotel showed the least bit of understanding or seemed apologetic or accommodating at all. In addition, we went to the hotel restaurant for breakfast, where it was at least half empty, and were told they were out of high chairs. My daughter ordered pancakes, which they were also out of. Next year we will seek accommdations at a hotel where they are better equipped for families!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — customer service/family friendliness
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Boston Brookline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Boston Brookline

Address: 1200 Beacon Street, Brookline, MA 02446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Boston Brookline 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millions of Dollars of Renovation..Millions of Reasons to Stay! Holiday Inn Brookline-Boston hotel is located just minutes from downtown Boston amidst the charming brownstones and tree-lined streets of historic Brookline. Our hotel is near Boston University, Boston College, Hynes Convention Center, Fenway Park (home of the Boston Red Sox) and many Boston Hospitals, including Children's Hospital, Brigham and Women's Hospital and Dana Farber Cancer Institute. The hotel offers free shuttle service to the Longwood Medical Area.The Holiday Inn Boston Brookline has a beautiful hotel lounge and restaurant with room service located on our first floor serving you in our 6-story atrium under umbrellas and arches central to our indoor heated pool. This 225 room, pet-friendly Boston hotel also offers free Wi-Fi, fitness room, guest laundry and dry cleaning services, bell service, and an on-site parking garage.Planning a Boston wedding reception, event, or corporate meeting? Let the Holiday Inn Brookline-Boston hotel be your event venue. Our hotel has 4 large hotel meeting rooms accommodating 4 to 400 guests. We have a dedicated and friendly staff here to assist you with all of your event planning needs. Discover all Boston has to offer at the Holiday Inn Boston-Brookline hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Boston Brookline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Boston Brookline Hotel Brookline
Holiday Inn Brookline
Brookline Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.