We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Boston Brookline

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Boston Brookline to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Boston Brookline
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Beacon Street, Brookline, MA 02446   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brookline
Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We moved to this hotel from Hiton Back Bay so as to be closer to where our daughter was to take her exam - we could see very well the difference in room quality and breakfast yet the price was also proportionally lower, so there is not much to complain about. Our biggest complaint is about noise - both from the busy Beacon and its construction site and from the adjacent room.

Room Tip: in the tower, higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback, the city construction project fortunately is coming to an end shortly and hopefully provide a quieter setting. I would like to hear more about your breakfast experience, and will contact you privately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    152
    110
    47
    38
See reviews for
160
81
32
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singaporesabrina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were sending a son to study in Harvard University. After researching on the expensive hotels in Harvard Square and the cheaper but dingy ones out of Harvard Square, I chose this hotel as it has a T stop right outside the hotel, and a lively village two blocks, or a five minute walk away- Coolidge Corner. It also was good value for money, as the rooms were bigger than those in Cambridge, but cheaper than those in Boston and Cambridge. (Brookline is an upper middle class suburb in the outskirts of Boston.)

Coolidge Corner has great cafes, clothes shops and the Brookline Bookstore, which opens till 11 pm. There is also a Trader Joe's supermarket, a post office, and a Walgreen, which is a pharmacy /mini supermarket /photo developing center/ news agent. Walgreen also sells Trac Phones , which are basic phones with prepaid phone cards - ideal for tourists on short term or mid term visits.

The T stop outside the hotel is great for going anywhere in Boston! And even to New York! Just take the T to North station, which is about 30 min away. Then take the Chinatown bus from there to NYC. The Chinatown bus runs every hour and gets you safely to NYC chinatown in 4 hours, for a mere $15. The North Station also has buses going to other parts of New England like Cape Cod. So, I 'd say Brookline is very convenient to stay in.

Also, there is a bus number 66, which runs up and down Harvard Ave, where Coolidge Corner is. About five minutes on the bus and you are at TJ Maxx, a discount store for designer apparel and household supplies. If you dtay on this 66 bus and take it to its terminal, you are at Harvard Square and Harvard University. This is about only twenty five min from Coolidge Corner.

All in, I would say Hoilday Inn Brookline is a good, economical hotel to stay in, with easy access to Harvard, everywhere else in Boston and beyond.

Room Tip: There is a tower block and a courtyard block. Pay a bit more and get a room in the tower block. Thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback as you touched on a lot of the features and conveniences the hotel has. The hotel is especially close to many of the Colleges and Universities, whether you are dropping off a student for the semester or taking college tours before you select a school. Coolidge Corner is indeed a wonderful neighborhood with many offerings for all to explore, all within walking distance. We hope to see you the next time you are visiting your son at Harvard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A group of us (15 in total) stayed in the hotel for 10 days. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff had been very accommodating. The location could not be better! We enjoyed the stay very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We appreciate both the positive comments and your business with your group, and hope that you will pass this along to your colleagues in the travel community. I will be sure to share this with our sales team, thanks again for the great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

I have to start out by saying my husband works away from home all week are stays in a holiday inn here in pa a lot, so he became a rewards member. After staying so many nights he racks up points towards free nights. we wanted to go to a Sox game and this was the closest holiday inn, so I chose this one. I expected that since it was a "free" room that we would have the worst room in the whole place.it was actually the opposite! Our room was so big and so nice and clean.it was a tower room with a big window to the outside. I don't think I would have liked one of the rooms by the pool because that was a little strange .(unless you have kids who swim)

It was so convenient with the T right outside the front door, we got a few day Charlie card and rode it around like crazy since it was 100 degrees out then.

Breakfast wasn't included and we probably could have gone somewhere else sure much cheaper, but it was so nice and quiet eating there and the buffet was really good.I really liked the man working three who poured my orange juice every morning, he was so nice.

Parking price was ridiculous. $75 for three nights.

There was a mix up with our reservations, which I don't think was this exact hotels fault, but the woman said the manager would call my husband and he actually did.he was very nice.when we were during in the hotel lobby one day enjoying the sure conditioning, he even saidhello to us, which was a nice gesture.

We want to plan a trip somewhere new next year, but we just love Boston so much, we will probably be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We can't wait to have you back next year, perhaps the Red Sox will play better too! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will certainly pass along your comments to all involved, as they work tirelessly to ensure all of our gests have a memorable time in Brookline. In regards to our parking prices, we are extremely competive with other hotels, and much more economical than some of the hotels downtown, and I always recommend execatly what you did, park your car at the hotel and take the train to explore, as parking downtown can be a challenge and expensive too. Thanks again for taking the time to respond to us, as we greatly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent one night here in mid-October. Our room was very clean, comfortable, and quiet. From the front desk to the room attendants, everyone was really gracious and kind. I was really impressed. The pool was a lot of fun too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words, the staff is always eager to learn about our guests experiences, and this will be one that I will be thrilled to share with everyone, hope to see you when you travel to Brookline again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

as we were on a coach tour our accomodation had been chosen by the tour company, initially we had a problem getting into the room this was soon rectified with a voucher for a complimentary breakfast as well, the only complaint i had about the room would have to be the height of the loo, it was very low im only just over 5ft and i struggled. the bar area was good the old gentleman behind the bar was brilliant service was brill, we ate at the bar the food was good as well

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, in regards to the height of the loo, some of our boutique rooms have a smaller footprint, and a slightly smaller bathroom area. If you travel again to this area and would like a larger room, you can always upgrade to one of the Executive rooms in our tower. I will pass along the great comments to the chef and to the bartender, they will be very pleased with your accolades! Thanks again for taking the time to write us, hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is ideally located with garage parking for parents visiting their students at BU. You can walk to campus or catch the T right at the hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms had free wifi and were comfortable. There are no safes in the rooms. Neighborhood is lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your response, we are glad you had a great stay, and yes we are a short walk away from BU and close to many other higher educational institutions. Getting into the city is also relatively easy with the "T" right outside our doorstep . We hope that we will see you in the future when you return to the Boston Brookline area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Boston Brookline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Boston Brookline

Address: 1200 Beacon Street, Brookline, MA 02446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Boston Brookline 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millions of Dollars of Renovation..Millions of Reasons to Stay! Holiday Inn Brookline-Boston hotel is located just minutes from downtown Boston amidst the charming brownstones and tree-lined streets of historic Brookline. Our hotel is near Boston University, Boston College, Hynes Convention Center, Fenway Park (home of the Boston Red Sox) and many Boston Hospitals, including Children's Hospital, Brigham and Women's Hospital and Dana Farber Cancer Institute. The hotel offers free shuttle service to the Longwood Medical Area.The Holiday Inn Boston Brookline has a beautiful hotel lounge and restaurant with room service located on our first floor serving you in our 6-story atrium under umbrellas and arches central to our indoor heated pool. This 225 room, pet-friendly Boston hotel also offers free Wi-Fi, fitness room, guest laundry and dry cleaning services, bell service, and an on-site parking garage.Planning a Boston wedding reception, event, or corporate meeting? Let the Holiday Inn Brookline-Boston hotel be your event venue. Our hotel has 4 large hotel meeting rooms accommodating 4 to 400 guests. We have a dedicated and friendly staff here to assist you with all of your event planning needs. Discover all Boston has to offer at the Holiday Inn Boston-Brookline hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Boston Brookline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Boston Brookline Hotel Brookline
Holiday Inn Brookline
Brookline Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.