We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anthony's Town House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookline
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anthony's Town House
1085 Beacon Street, Brookline, MA 02446   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Brookline B&B and Inns
New Britain, Connecticut, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

they are very helpful I've been there a few times and heading back for new years eve always helpful and considerate its like traveling back in time not just the furniture but they were very friendly and helpful good old fashion service which is dying in the hotel chains

Room Tip: no pool or fitness center but great place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
14
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed at Anthony’s Town House about a month ago. I was on a trip to Boston and was looking for an affordable place to stay. I was simply amazed by the amazing service that I received. The receptionist (I believe her name was Barbara) was extremely warm and helpful. She guided me to different locations as I am not familiar with the area. She went out of her way to help me and make sure that I have a comfortable stay. The people who work at Anthony’s Town House treat their guests as family. I never had a similar experience anywhere in the world and I am someone who travels a lot. The room was very comfortable and it was a great location. Overall, I recommend this place without any reservation!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenixville, pa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Honestly, I CANNOT imagine recommending this place to anyone. First, the beds are as ancient as the decor, which looks like it came from the church rummage sale (4 decades ago). Who knew there were so many shades of green that could clash so dramatically? Wow, it looks like a contest winner for the world's best makeover--only this room is the BEFORE rather than the AFTER. Second, beware that 4 of the rooms are 4 flights up. I'm fine with stairs, but they're not for everyone, especially if you have heavy luggage. And those 4 rooms--the guests within all four of them share one very teeny, tiny bathroom smaller than the smallest closet in my home! I don't know about you, but the last time I shared a bathroom was in college, and I didn't love it then. Do yourself a favor: don't stay here. Seriously, there are many other options just outside of Boston with present-day accommodations. For me to consider anything a good value, it first has to be good. This isn't even close.

Room Tip: The most important tip I could give any prospective guest: find another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The staff, who happens to own the place, are very warm. They will prepare for your arrival, notes if your flight has been delayed and make you feel welcome upon arrival.

Staying here was just like being home. Free wireless internet, too. Though speed is not that consistent.

Just be ready for the shared bathrooms! With one toilet & bath for each floor of about 3-4 rooms, it wasn't as bad. And it was surprisingly clean everytime you use it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Easy to get to from the bus station or airport. Close enough to walk to Fenway and 15 mins from downtown sights. Right across from the train stop.

Townhouse is European styled (different!) but was very clean and bed was comfy enough. AC in each room.

Great restaurants nearby too!

Very cheap compared to everything else in Boston.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It was very easy to use the green line C train to get in/out of the downtown area. Restaurants and stores are nearby for breakfast, which is not included. Rooms were clean and sharing the floor bathroom with other guests was not a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our stay here was fantastic! Everything was spotlessly clean. Our room was comfortable and spacious. They helped us find free parking on the street nearby. There were a lot of steps but we were easily able to manage this. There is a bathroom on each of the floors so it was easy to use another one if the one on our floor was occupied. They helped us understand and get tickets for the public transportation. It was really easy to catch transportation into Boston, and we had a great stay. We'd definitely stay here again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anthony's Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthony's Town House

Also Known As:
Anthony`s Town House Hotel
Anthony`s Town House Hotel Brookline
Address: 1085 Beacon Street, Brookline, MA 02446
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anthony's Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Anthony's Town House to your Saves list