We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Boston, good location and access” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anthony's Town House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookline
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anthony's Town House
Save
You added Anthony's Town House to your Saves list
1085 Beacon Street, Brookline, MA 02446   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Brookline B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
istanbul
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best stay in Boston, good location and access”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

It is on Beacon street where green line C passes and Hawnes stop just front of the hotel, so location and access is very good. It is an old historic Boston building where you feel the soul of New England. My room has one single and one double beds and cloth room! The rooms are so wide and comfortable. 3 rooms share one bathroom and it was no problem for me. Hotel keepers were so nice, sincere and lovely. We wish to visit Boston with my wife and plan to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    16
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
17
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Anthony's Town House is just the right kind of place for someone like me. I hate staying in a anonymous chain hotel - I like the accommodation to give me a flavour of the city I'm in. I dislike strangers treating me with false bonhomie. I like being free to come and go as I please but to have help on hand if needed. I suspect that the welcome you receive at Anthony's very much depends on how you, as a guest, behave. At Anthony's, you are a guest in someone's home, albeit a paying guest who gets their own meals. If you approach it expecting the same service you would receive at the Best Western you will be disappointed. But in that case, you should have stayed at the Best Western. I have been returning annually for 5 years and am never disappointed. The rooms are beautiful, the hosts are welcoming and helpful and the place is spotless.

Room Tip: Allow them to choose the room for you ... that's part of the fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

It's nice, clean, quiet, and easy to travel even I got back late at night. The shared bathroom is very clean. The decoration is in an old fashion but it's ok, feel like a grandma's house. Keep in mind that this place is run by a family and they don't accept credit card. You have to send a check to make a reservation and pay full amount by check/cash as you check-in.

Just one thing, I stayed there with a friend and we are 2 females. The manager sent us to the 4th floor. When I asked if there's any room on the lower floor, his response is a bit rude like "you're young, you can walk!" (in a very impolite voice). But overall the place was ok and worth the money we spent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We had to visit the area to drop off our son who is in his 2nd year at BU. We usually stay at one of the chain hotels and collect our reward points but this time we decided to try Anthony's. Well, we totally enjoyed our first stay at Anthony's. The Victorean decor was really eye catching as we walked into the home. Our room was huge, very clean, and comfortable. The common areas within the establishment were spotless, very homey, and expertly maintained. Sharing the bathroom was not an issue or a concern. If there was someone else staying on our floor, we didn't know about it. We slept in a room facing Beacon Street and didn't hear a thing (ac on)! And across the street, everything you could possibly need, a great breakfast place, a nice market a couple doors down, and a Indoor/Outdoor Tavern just a few doors down from that. As the title of this review states...We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth W Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Being right on the green line metro Anthony's is well located for getting cheaply and quickly to anywhere in or around Boston. Brookline also has a couple of options for breakfast, a nice super market and several restaurants, all within walking distance. The place is clean with nice rooms. However, the owners seem to keep a low profile and although they are helpful when you ask, the welcome is less than overwhelming.

Room Tip: Just be aware that it is quite a haul up the top floor with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

A really nice place, clean, really convenient, close to both the city center and Cambridge. I stayed here for three months (while at MIT) and really had a great time. Arthur and Barbara are always nice. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

The room was huge, a big plus when traveling with two teens. Yes, we did have to share a washroom with other guests, but it didn't happen often, as we had the floor to ourselves, and a bath and a half at our disposal. We did get to hear the microwave outside of our door beep quite often, as other guests were microwaving their breakfast for a meal in the courtyard every morning (it sounded like they were cooking a turkey in there), but this disturbance was minimal. Arthur and Barbara are perfect hosts, full of local information, and just extremely pleasant to be around. After parking the car (with Arthur's assistance), we purchased subway passes and didn't think about the car again until it was time to leave. Great location, lots of restaurants in the area, beautiful place and if we are ever in the area again, we wouldn't stay anywhere else--what a nice break from chain hotels!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anthony's Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthony's Town House

Address: 1085 Beacon Street, Brookline, MA 02446
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Anthony`s Town House Hotel Brookline

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anthony's Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.