We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Publick House

The Publick House
1648 Beacon St., Brookline, MA 02445
617 277 2880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 150 Restaurants in Brookline
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Down to earth, local pub with a great beer list (heavily Belgian) & great food (including variously prepared mussels). I seem to end up here every time I'm in town.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    67
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food (sometimes)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I enjoy the food at the Publick House: their mac and cheese is delicious, but the quality is hit or miss. The past couple of times we have gone, we've ordered fries as an appetizer and they are cut too short to use the dipping sauces.

They also have a decent selection of beer, but the service can be pretty lacking when the place is busy. We only got a chance to order beer twice over the course of a 2 hour meal, despite actively trying to flag down the waitress.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I've been here twice and I love it. Good food, good beer, good service: it's a trifecta. Get the Mac 'n Cheese, seriously. It's a little loud, but not overly so. My only complaint, albeit a minor one, is that there is always a wait but that is simply because it is so good.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“More fun on a weekday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I love the Publick House even though I'm not a beer expert. It's got good food and a dark-wood, high-ceilinged, pubby ambiance, so I don't mind that it's not super cheap. But do yourself a favor and go at like 6 on a Tuesday to skip the wait and the loud bar crowd.
I try to get a new beer every time I go, and the waitstaff is great with recommendations. And the food is great! Get the mac and cheese with jalapenos, or the waterzooi if you like seafood.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beer lover's paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I wish there was a bit more variety on the menu, but the BEER menu makes up for that and more. Publick House has a wonderful selection of bottles and draft, with many special trappist varieties if you are into that style. The atmosphere is very social, with a medieval pub feel and well-planned table and bar placement. The fries are awesome and the staff is very knowledgeable.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Publick House also viewed

 
 

Been to The Publick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Publick House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.