We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samuel Sewall Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookline
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Samuel Sewall Inn
Save
You added The Samuel Sewall Inn to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   143 St. Paul Street, Brookline, MA 02446   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Brookline B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights and would not stay anywhere else if we go back to Boston! Staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to help giving us lots of helpful tourist advice. The hotel was cosy and comfortable and we were able to upgrade rooms while there at no extra cost, each room was better than the last! Great location too! 5 Stars!!!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    37
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
71
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Horseheads, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

After reviewing trip advisor comments I booked the Samuel Sewall Inn for 2 nights. I was in town visiting my daughter who lives in Brookline. The Inn was located in a great location ... close to the "T" and Coolidge Corner. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was very good with both a hot entree and fruit and yogurt offered along with cereal or bread items. The Inn was quiet and I especially enjoyed the nighttime routine of "turning down your bed" and leaving a pamphlet with the weather and menu for the following day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronte, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is a really darn comfortable inn. The furniture is quirky-quaint - but the place is quiet, the staff are friendly, the room is as clean and as organized as a five star hotel.

If I want to be churlish my room didn't have a desk. Other rooms do and if this matters to you ask when you book. But value is fabulous and there really isn't anything that I would change.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This B&B made a recent stay in Boston extremely good. The room (after changing to a larger one) was just large enough to spend a little time in doing work; the bathroom simple. A wonderful plus was a real breakfast that changed daily that had great variety. In addition the staff of the Inn was consistently helpful. There were some too little heat, then too much heat issues but these were easily resolved. In walking distance of the T. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I went to college in Boston and this was my first trip back to Boston since graduation. I found this place on living social. It was so convenient to the T and was an easy walk to go to Fenway (GO SOX!). The innkeepers were very nice and the breakfasts were great everyday!

The room was a traditional Victorian room (lots of florals!). It was comfortable and had tons of charm!

I would definitely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We love this inn! We stayed here recently when my daughter and I were in the area for a family wedding and college visit. The inn itself is beautiful and the beds are so very comfortable! The location is a two-minute walk from the train system that will get you easily to any part of Boston and nearby cities. The breakfasts are amazing : fresh fruit, delicious yogurt, scrambled eggs with lox and cream cheese, white chocolate/raspberry pancakes - enough said! The staff was exceedingly helpful and warm. I can't wait to find a reason to visit again - soon!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Samuel Sewall Inn when we visited Boston. A place close enough, yet away, with comfort and relaxation attitude. A very rich breakfast sets you up for the day, and in addition you get free hot beverages and snacks all day through. Rooms a bit small and lack of lobby does reduce the overall rating, plus charging for parking per day is outrageous.
Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Samuel Sewall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samuel Sewall Inn

Address: 143 St. Paul Street, Brookline, MA 02446
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Samuel Sewall Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Boston, the Samuel Sewall Inn serves as an oasis from the hustle of downtown Boston. Located two miles from the heart of the city and one block from public transportation, guests are able to remain close to the cultural and business centers of Boston yet return to the tranquility of a bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Samuel Sewall Hotel Brookline
Samuel Sewall Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Samuel Sewall Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.