We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Comfortable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samuel Sewall Inn

Save Saved
You added The Samuel Sewall Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Samuel Sewall Inn
143 St. Paul Street, Brookline, MA 02446   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Brookline B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Truly Comfortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This B&B made a recent stay in Boston extremely good. The room (after changing to a larger one) was just large enough to spend a little time in doing work; the bathroom simple. A wonderful plus was a real breakfast that changed daily that had great variety. In addition the staff of the Inn was consistently helpful. There were some too little heat, then too much heat issues but these were easily resolved. In walking distance of the T. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    37
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
70
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I went to college in Boston and this was my first trip back to Boston since graduation. I found this place on living social. It was so convenient to the T and was an easy walk to go to Fenway (GO SOX!). The innkeepers were very nice and the breakfasts were great everyday!

The room was a traditional Victorian room (lots of florals!). It was comfortable and had tons of charm!

I would definitely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We love this inn! We stayed here recently when my daughter and I were in the area for a family wedding and college visit. The inn itself is beautiful and the beds are so very comfortable! The location is a two-minute walk from the train system that will get you easily to any part of Boston and nearby cities. The breakfasts are amazing : fresh fruit, delicious yogurt, scrambled eggs with lox and cream cheese, white chocolate/raspberry pancakes - enough said! The staff was exceedingly helpful and warm. I can't wait to find a reason to visit again - soon!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Samuel Sewall Inn when we visited Boston. A place close enough, yet away, with comfort and relaxation attitude. A very rich breakfast sets you up for the day, and in addition you get free hot beverages and snacks all day through. Rooms a bit small and lack of lobby does reduce the overall rating, plus charging for parking per day is outrageous.
Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Within an easy walk from Fenway in a super safe neighborhood. Also have the T within a 2 minute walk. A wonderful old building with great rooms. Lots of character. So nice to finally find a B and B with a king size bed. We had room 14 and it was awesome.

Room Tip: I don't think they would have a "bad" room , from what I saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a NCL cruise leaving from Boston so came a few days early to see the sites. We selected this location because the Boston MFA and the Gardner Museum were within walking distance. The innkeepers are probably the strongest reason for recommending this accommodation as they did everything possible to assist including rescuing a suitcase we had inadvertently taken with to the Boston Cruise Terminal. Their sister B & B is across the street and would also be worth of investigating...Bertram Inn. The breakfast was quite good with the eating area quite cozy...across the street it appeared to be larger. The 2 museums mentioned are just over 1/2 hour walk and strongly recommend you contact the inn in advance to book passes to either museum to save the $25 per person entry fee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night when we dropped my daughter off for school. Very convenient, just a few minutes from Boston U campus. The room was cozy and the bed was very comfortable. It's an old building so there's not much soundproofing, but a place like this doesn't really attract the party crowd so noise was not an issue at all. Parking is available either here or across the street at a sister property. The breakfast which was included was very tasty and there's a little patio outside where you can enjoy it on nice mornings.

Location, price, and comfort were great for Boston. I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Samuel Sewall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samuel Sewall Inn

Address: 143 St. Paul Street, Brookline, MA 02446
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Boston, the Samuel Sewall Inn serves as an oasis from the hustle of downtown Boston. Located two miles from the heart of the city and one block from public transportation, guests are able to remain close to the cultural and business centers of Boston yet return to the tranquility of a bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Samuel Sewall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samuel Sewall Hotel Brookline
Samuel Sewall Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Samuel Sewall Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.