We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love everything about this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matt Murphy's Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Matt Murphy's Pub
14 Harvard St, Brookline, MA 02445-7905
617-232-0188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 171 Restaurants in Brookline
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
Restaurant details
Boston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love everything about this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I don't get to MM too often, and wish I lived closer. I love this place. It feels like I'm in a cozy pub in another country. I love the food, ambiance, and the music they choose to play. It's a real neighborhood pub feel. Intimate and friendly. I had a wonderful duck confit with savory bread pudding and pears. Yum.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“A Boston/ Brookline Favorite!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

I have been to Murphy's several times and have always been impressed with the quality of food and service. It is a small, family owned restaurant with some incredible selections- the lamb burger, swordfish, mussels, fries with homemade ketchup are always great choices. They offer brunch on the weekends that is to die for! Bread pudding is the best around. The staff is helpful and kind. We have never felt rushed! It is cash only and very reasonably priced. Truly a great place!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great gastropub in Brookline”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The food is fantastic at Matt Murphy's! Very reasonable prices, real Irish grub. Just be sure to bring cash, cause Siobhan (the owner) doesn't take credit cards.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a terrible night out.........this is the place for you”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

What's not to like?..... Just about everything on my recent visit.

Decor: looks like a scene from a Dickensian workhouse. Everything is painted grey (there are a few photos from Ireland on the walls - is this so people will think it is an Irish bar?).

Comfort: most of the tables have benches on one side. The room is long and narrow - there was a cold draft from both the front door and the kitchen at the rear. Very uncomfortable.

Service: the very worst I have experienced in a long, long time. Gruff, rude and unhelpful best describes our experience.

Food was fine but really the experience was ruined by all of the above.

Finally, there is little if anything authentically Irish about Matt Murphy's Pub.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Come a few times and you feel loike family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011 via mobile

The food is fresh, very good, and interesting. Sioban, the owner, cares about food and you can tell. I like just about everything on the menu especially the fried fish sandwich and the lamb burger. The entrees are great too. Make sure you save room for dessert, absolutely the best bread pudding and panna cotta.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matt Murphy's Pub also viewed

 

Been to Matt Murphy's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matt Murphy's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.