We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hops Brookline, MA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hops n Scotch

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hops n Scotch
1306 Beacon St, Brookline, MA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 171 restaurants in Brookline
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
new jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hops Brookline, MA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My son & I recently went to HOPS for brunch on a Saturday and the staff were immediately accommodating with a table. Our wait staff was cheerful, attentive and informative. I had the orange & red beet salad and my son had the eggs benedict. DELICIOUS!! Lovely atmosphere with music playing in the background ever so softly. Prices are reasonable. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    10
    5
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Subpar service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our first and only visit. We stopped by on a Friday afternoon around 4:30pm to grab a quick beer. We had our well behaved baby with us and were told that the only (self) seating was in the bar area. Fine. Found an out of the way table directly facing the bar, as to not disturb after work imbibers, and waited patiently to order a beer. And waited. And waited. Finally, the bartender called over and asked what we would like to drink. We had mistakenly sat in a non-bar area table (5 feet from bar), but no one had communicated this to us. Had our beer and left. Did not order food. At least the bartender was friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Satisfying food and fairly priced scotch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Both times that I've been here, the wait staff has been very friendly and attentive. They have a large selection of reasonably priced scotch and the food is very decent, but a little pricey.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting concept, a bit of a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The food did not really deliver on its promise. Adequate but not impressive selection of whiskey, tending towards the entry level range, but the waitresses were nice, but not knowledgable about the selections.High noise level. Lots of folks enjoying the hops. Maybe that's the ticket for this place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Food is very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went to this new restaurant last Saturday evening. It is in a hot spot on Brookline, and is still going through the learning pains for things like figuring out how long guests will stay. We arrived for our 8pm reservation to find a noisy bar crowd and a table not ready. This should get better over time, a nd it is something they should pay more attention to. We did not get seated until almost 9 pm. The resto did make amends though.

When it comes to the food quality, it gets very good marks for both quality and value. We had a few appetizers (4 of us), and the Scottish eggs were delicious. For the main courses, we had pork tenderloin, braised short ribs, and shrimp étouffée. We gave all thumbs up. The drinks menu was extensive, and the service good. If you want to visit it soon, I would recommend on a night other than a Saturday if you are a stickler for timeliness, but if you do not mind a wait, it has a fun atmosphere on Saturdays.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hops n Scotch also viewed

 

Been to Hops n Scotch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hops n Scotch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.