We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Italian seafood place in Brookline” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daily Catch Restaurant

Daily Catch Restaurant
441 Harvard St, Brookline, MA 02446-2411
617-734-2700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 171 restaurants in Brookline
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Good for: Romance
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“THE Italian seafood place in Brookline”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Fantastic restaurant, worth the wait for the relatively few tables. Order the pasta with clams, mussels, calamari, whatever, but get it in fra diavolo sauce, If you are visiting the city, it's worth the trip out to Brookline (or check out the other locations in North End or the Seaport District).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    25
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant in Brookline”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Had dinner today at Daily Catch. The food was SOOOO good! We had the fried calamari and their famous lobster pasta. Seafood there was absolutely fantastic, and they made one of the best pasta in town. The food came in large portion too. It was very much enough for 3 people. Although there was only one waitress there, we still got decent service.

The only negative thing is that the aircon was off, and it was almost 90 degrees today. Hope they can get the aircon fixed soon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson VA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

This is by far the best restaurant in Brookline. If you are visiting or live in Brookline you need to check out the restaurant. I walked past it yesterday and talked myself out of eating there because it was so small but that was a mistake because I missed a chance to eat their amazing food.. I would recommend the calamari meatballs they were great.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood and pasta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is the restaurant on Hanover Street in the North End (there are others). http://www.dailycatch.com/northend.html

We waited about a half hour for seats for four, and it was well worth the wait. There are all of 20 seats in the place (2 tables of six, one of four, two of two), and you share the floor space with the one-man kitchen.

We started with a large plate of fried calamari, having watched the chef/cook dredge the calamari, fry them and plate them. Amazing. Tasty, of course, but soft and almost buttery. Yes, calamari.

Three of us shared two pasta dishes: One was the house specialty, homemade black pasta, prepared puttanesca style. Rich, thick puree of black olives, anchovy paste, and oh just a weeeee bit of garlic. (No vampires need apply.) Served in the skillet in which it was prepared. Overwhelmingly tasty.

Also linguine with red clam sauce, also served in the skillet. Also with just a weeeee bit of garlic. A simple dish, perhaps, but it can be made like anyplace else, or it can be made truly unique. This one is worth the price of admission, as they say.

Our fourth, a tween with (shall we say) somewhat selective tastes, had a side of fettucine alfredo. A "side", of course, is what I would have called a "soup plate" in size. Again, an ordinary dish in name, but when it's prepared *so* well..... If you have kids, suffice to say that she ate every bit of it.

We also had a side of broccoli sauteed in garlic, which was (and we watched it made, like everything else) broccoli that was sauteed in (oil and) garlic. How often have you had a plate of broccoli that was itself *exciting*?? Really, I mean that. Every crumb was consumed.

Dinner came with fresh bread. We know it was fresh because, while we were waiting on line outside, we saw the floor guy (waiter, manager, maybe he owns the place?) run across the street to the bakery and come back with his arms loaded with loaves of bread. Then, once inside, we watched him cut and slice it. We finished ours in no time flat, and he replenished it almost immediately. It came in handy to sop up all of the sauces (see above).

You can't help but get friendly with other patrons if you're so inclined, but for such a tiny place you can keep to yourselves too. We enjoyed watching the banter between the chef/cook and the floor guy (the third staff member washes the dishes, perpetually it seems) and sometimes other patrons. He was very quick with the answer to our question of where to go for dessert (bakery down the street, not the source of the bread), and he was right on the money with that one too.

This place is special. Go, and go hungry.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“SIMPLE & SUCCULENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

For a while this 'teeny, tiny, perfect' Italian seafood neighbourhood restaurant was off the radar (closed) and now it is BACK and had not miss a beat. The simple, succulent seafood & squid ink pasta are 'numero uno', the price is 'fantastico' and the service is 'fast, furious and great'!!!!!!!!!! Be prepare to dine at 'early bird' hours as space is limited but it is well-worth the rush.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daily Catch Restaurant also viewed

 
Brookline, MA
Brookline, MA
 

Been to Daily Catch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daily Catch Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.