We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Kosher Chinese restaurants in the US!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taam China Restaurant INC

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Taam China Restaurant INC
423 Harvard St, Brookline, MA 02446-2429
(617) 264-7274
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 171 Restaurants in Brookline
Cuisines: Chinese, Kosher
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the best Kosher Chinese restaurants in the US!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Or should I say in the world? I've eaten at Kosher Chinese restaurants in Chicago, Los Angeles, New York, Florida, Jerusalem, Melbourne, and London, and this is hands down my favorite. The dining experience is a bit lacking - hence the 4* instead of 5* - in that it can be noisy and crowded at times, and even when it's not, the waiting staff rush the meal. But the food! The food can make you weep. The flavors and textures are always to perfection.
If the ambiance bothers you, they do a full take-out service. It's a fun meal to pick up on the way to/from the airport, etc.
It isn't cheap (no Kosher Chinese place is, really), but the Lunch special (11:00 AM - 3:00 PM Mon-Fri) is an affordable $6.95 for a soup, main, and rice.
A must-visit for the Kosher food lover!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rushed, but OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Food is good, and served very quickly. When crowded, such as motzei Shabbat or Sunday evenings, the staff makes you feel rushed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“If you keep kosher, don't miss this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Ta'am China is very nicely decorated, the service is very attentive, and the menu is quite extensive. The food is extremely well-prepared and nicely presented. All in all, it's a highly recommended dining experience!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Wow! This restaurant was perfect for my friend and I at the end of a long day of touring. We sat down and ordered and had our food at our table in about ten minutes. The food was simply delicious and not as salty as some other Chinese food I have tasted in the past. It's great to know that there's a kosher restaurant near Boston but something everyone should know-it's a good 15 minute drive from central Boston to Brookline, with traffic. Bon apetit!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Chinese food, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

I had dinner here twice recently on a first-time visit to Boston. The food was delicious; hot, freshly made and tasty, although the crispy chicken was made a little too crispy. Soups and egg rolls were great as well. Service was decent - the longest we waited to be served was around 10-15 minutes; not too bad at all.

The location in Brookline was nice and convenient too, located in a trendy neighborhood with numerous shops, restaurants, cafes, bookstores, etc. My only complaint would be that the restaurant is very small - not uncomfortable for a few tables, but large groups or parties may not be able to be accommodated. Pricing was about average, but the value was good. Overall, I would recommend this restaurant to anyone and look forward to returning.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taam China Restaurant INC also viewed

 
Brookline, MA
 

Been to Taam China Restaurant INC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taam China Restaurant INC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.