We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great meal. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Square Tavern

Washington Square Tavern
714 Washington St, Brookline, MA 02446-4564
617-232-8989
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 150 Restaurants in Brookline
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a great meal. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW

Market fish was Striped Bass with a corn and basil Risotto simply Amazing. Paired with Anthill Farms California Pinot noir. Very inviting space great wait staff, Stuart and Connor behind the bar are the best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    26
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

First place we walked in as it was closer to the car! So it was not really a choice but what a surprise inside! Staff very friendly and helpful. We had to wait only 20 minutes which on Saturday night in Brookline is excellent! The lights are kept very low here so you do not see much of people's faces... but we were sitting next to a lady who was a bit loud for our taste but we soon forgot her when the food arrived. The calamari were soft and delicious, A staple of pub food like fish and chips was extremely good, a real surprise with a light batter and minty peas mash far better than any you would find in England in a place as mid-range as this one!! We also liked the ambience and the fact that even if we were the only one with a child everyone was super-welcoming. Another ace for Brookline mid-range restaurant's scene!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Very pleasant, classy pub food. Menu changes seasonally, with emphasis on fresh ingredients. Can get crowded at times. No television, which is refreshing for a bar.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Jambalaya was packed with Flavor! Great Wine list and Specialty Cocktails,
My Wife was very happy with her Farro Entrée, Love the warm atmosphere, this is an amazing find!

  • Visited January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cozy comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Our friends who live in Brookline brought us here on a rainy Saturday for some beer and burgers, and we were very pleased with both here. The atmosphere is very cozy with a beautiful bar and dark wood all around. The beer selection was good - several drafts and even more bottle choices. The wine menu also looked diverse. All four of us enjoyed burgers that were perfectly cooked and topped with delicious caramelized onions. The buns seemed a little less than fresh but the meat was so good it was worth over looking. The fries on the side were also excellent and the rest of the menu was definitely tempting enough to return here, featuring a variety of comforting dishes including pastas, roasted chicken, and steak with some very appetizing sounding salads as well.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Square Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Washington Square Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Square Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.