We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative and delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taberna de Haro

Taberna de Haro
999 Beacon St, Brookline, MA 02446-5609
617-277-8272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 150 Restaurants in Brookline
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: St. Mary's
Transit: St. Mary's T stop, Green Line, C train
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Creative and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Authentically spanish tapas with a creative twist. Small restaurant (especially in winter when the sidewalk cafe is closed) with a big menu and wine list. Reservations definitely recommended. The chocolate truffles with sea salt and olive oil was one of the most amazing things I have ever eaten! Classic tapas such as gambas al ajillo and tortilla espanola are perfectly executed!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Intimate, not to be overlooked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I took two friends to dinner and wanted to find something that was different.. This fit the bill. The service is good, and the food is good. It's like eatting at someone's home, This is a casual, unpretentious, honest restaurant.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A European treat in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We were out walking around Brookline looking for a place to eat on Saturday night. We stopped in to Taberna de Haro for a nice surprise. No reservation so we were seated at the bar and enjoyed several Tapas for dinner including the octupus special and a pate. The selection of Spanish wines was amazing and very good. Great service, good wine and wonderful old world bread with our Tapas. I'm ready to go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Good tapas + great sangria + charming atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The tapas we had were very good- the best were the croquettes, the spinach and the haddock. The restaurant itself is small but very cute with an open kitchen and a bar where you can eat. We were at a table near the back which was cozy. You are definitely close to others so it is not a place for private conversations. The service was friendly. The sangria was absolutely amazing but you are paying for quality at $34 for a small pitcher- but worth it! We'll definitely go back.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We were visiting from overseas and had eaten here on a previous trip.We had been looking forward to returning and the food did not disappoint. We love the Squid ink paella . There is a great wine list, great service and we sat outside on a warm May night.
A bit pricey, but a very enjoyable meal again with our family.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna de Haro also viewed

 

Been to Taberna de Haro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taberna de Haro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.