We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly, it's gone downhill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Morra

La Morra
48 Boylston Street, Brookline, MA 02446-7601
(617) 739-0007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Morra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 171 restaurants in Brookline
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Washington
Transit: Brookline Village/Greenline
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Sadly, it's gone downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Used to love La Morra. Went there recently and food was terrible. Flank steak was overly smoky. Pork shank was dry and without much flavor. Sides were just mounds of overlooked potatoes, grits or greens with just a lot of salt.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    39
    23
    3
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Still cozy, food a little less good than I remembered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

La Morra is still cozy, with a nice atmosphere and very good service, but the food was a little less ... inventive, effective ... and too highly salted ... than it was when I was last there. My dining partners agreed. Maybe chef was just having an off night. My pasta was delicious, but the side of brussel sprouts ... well, I was surprised they were deep fried. Hmmmm .... I would go back and give it another try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We've eaten at La Morra many times and the food is invariably excellent: creative, beautifully executed, and truly delicious. The imaginative dishes are a testament to the talented chefs. Foodies, fans of Northern Italian cuisine and anyone who wants a fine meal should come to La Morra.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Better Options Available”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We picked La Morra because they had last minute availability. The restaurant offered a 5 and 5:15 PM reservation online but when we arrived, we were informed they didn't open till 5:30 PM. They apologized and said we could sit at the bar but they could only serve us water. For dinner I ordered Tagliatelle Al Ragú with bolognese expecting a finely minced meat-based tomato sauce. Instead the pasta was served in what only can be described as stroganoff style with large chunks of varied meats not to my taste and no tomato sauce. There are much better dining options available just down the road in Boston.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Packed and Noisy for Restaurant Week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Serving to a maximum crowd during Restaurant Week may be just a bit beyond their best effort. The noise level in this small place with a full group didn't help.

The food was high quality with a creative intent. Service was good, if a bit slow with the numbers present.

There is some parking which is always a plus with an urban location.

Not a "must go" but a very strong "go".

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Morra also viewed

 

Been to La Morra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Morra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.