We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Temple

Golden Temple
1651 Beacon St, Brookline, MA 02445-4505
(617) 277-9722
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Golden Temple is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 150 Restaurants in Brookline
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Washington
Transit: Green line C line "Washington Square"
Brookline, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Chinese dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is the go-to place for Chinese food after every high school graduation, family event or just for dinner in Washington Square. Typical Boston style lobster and shrimp dishes so different from the similar choices in New York. Nowadays, sweet-and-sour can be partnered with hot Szechuan or even Thai-inspired dishes and, like so many suburban Chinese restaurants, a selection of sushi dishes. There may be others with "better" food, but the popularity of Golden Temple is unmatched.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    19
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
roatan
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good service.....good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My favorite restaurant closed recentky and I am forced to fnd a new chinese restaurant. As a little girl growing up I used to eat here. Food was good. Service with johnny as waiter was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Gourmet Chinese in a comfortable setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

A wonderful wait staff serving exceptional Chinese food. Extensive menu serving nice portions that are flavored well. The bar is well staffed and the pours are above average for even a newbie. You may go to other Chinese restaurants which may be good and less expensive, but you will always say that Golden Temple is better.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great chinese in one of the oldest restaurants in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

As a friend of mine once said lets go to the Temple for a religious experience.

I have eaten there many times over the past 25+ years and my visit this week was the first in several years. When I entered I received the same warm greeting by the host as I had come to expect over the years. The décor, while somewhat dated is still most unusual and interesting.

The food was as always beautifully prepared and delicious. We had an old favorite the Golden Temple Ribs which are huge, meaty and worth the price. The dishes we chose all came fresh, hot and tasty.

Over the years I have come to expect consistently good food, prepared with the freshest ingredients and served by a well trained staff. We were definitely not disappointed.

The bar area was also bust and the drinks are great.

If you want great Chinese food that will always meet your expectations, this is the place to go. The prices are slightly higher than many neighborhood restaurants, but the food and the experience are worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut Hill
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Overdone and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The food is good but not outstanding at their prices. I dislike the idea of valet parking at a neighborhood restaurant. Save your time, money and appetite and try one of the Asian restaurants
on Harvard Street or Brighton Avenue.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Temple also viewed

 
Brookline, MA
Brookline, MA
 

Been to Golden Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.