We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy's Bar & Oven - CLOSED

Jimmy's Bar & Oven
1653 Beacon St, Brookline, MA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I give this about 3.5 stars. I live pretty close to Jimmy's and never really have a problem getting a table or a seat at the bar. Whenever I seem to go (5+ times in three months) I've never seen it full. I have had hit or miss service here. Most of the times it is very good, but a few times it has been a little slow. The pizza is very good.

We always have to ask to put major sports games on (Red Sox, Celtics, Bruins), there's always something else on TV.

Good place, not great. A little more casual than the other places in Washington Square, but still leaves a little to be desired. Not quite a sports bar, not quite a fancy bar, just caught in the middle.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome Tunes, Great Patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The servers play their pandora stations which generally involve 90s throwbacks making this a great spot for 20 and 30somethings!

Note: Brookline requires you to order food on the patio so if you're just grabbing a beer, snag the stools inside which face the large patio with big open windows.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great place to ease your hunger and thirst”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We walked in the door and were greeted by Zak. Zak was super friendly and nice to out of towners. He walked us through the menu. We ordered pizza and sandwiches. Food was excellent and reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Terrific Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Jimmy's is a loud neighborhood pizza place. Very energetic local crowd. My wife, granddaughter and I shared two 10 inch pizzas and had leftovers. We ordered a pepperoni/mushroom and a pesto pizza. The pesto was unique and over-the-top good! Pesto, mushrooms, artichokes, and cherry tomatoes. Our granddaughter said the pepperoni/mushroom pizza was the best she ever had. Strong praise from an 18 year old! We also ordered the Crispy Calamari. This visit would have earned Jimmy's five stars had the calamari been prepared properly. It was way under cooked and far from crispy. Friday evening rush was underway so I did not send it back like I should have. I just ate it and said nothing. Clearly, it couldn't have been that bad, now could it?
TIP: Beacon street is a very cool neighborhood. With a lot of foot traffic. Arrive early and you may be able to snag one of their outdoor tables.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Nice place for a group after work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our office is 2 blocks away and it has become a nice after work get together place. Nice, but industrial atmosphere. Good bar and high top tables. Bar staff is great. Wait staff is a bit slow and being less than a mile from two major universities, young and they don't always pay attention, Menu is nice. Nice selection of appetizers that don't always go with their thin crust pizzas (that are good.) Mixed crowd from 20 something to 60 something. Overall a good place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Bar & Oven also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy's Bar & Oven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.