We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Abbey

The Abbey
1657 Beacon Street, Washington Square, Brookline, MA 02445
617-730-8040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 173 Restaurants in Brookline
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A local favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I've been living in Brookline for a couple of years now, and I would have to say that this place is one of my favorites in the area. I stumbled in Oct 2012, and since then, have brought in a few of my friends, who all love The Abbey now too. Not only are the drinks great (a wonderful cocktail list too), but the food is pretty amazing. The best dish though? The truffle fries. $5 for a plate of heaven. There's a decent amount of them too. Can be easily shared with 2 people, though you might want to get one for yourself since they're so good. I've also had their flatbread pizza, and cod fritters. I have many favorite items off the menu here. And one of the great things about The Abbey is that the kitchen is open until late :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent, this is my favorite local dessert spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I live down the street from Athan's and this is my go-to dessert place any time I go out to dinner in Washington Square. It's also a great place to go for a warm coffee or espresso drink. On my first few visits, I tried gelato and the single serve size desserts in the case. On my most recent few visits, I have tried various cookies and baklava; the baklava is out of this world and I will probably never go back to the other desserts. The workers are extremely helpful in explaining the flavors in the cookies and desserts and recommending their favorite desserts.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Abbey Reataurant Washington Sq, Brookline”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

What a great neighborhood restaurant! I learned to make the shaved brussell sprouts from the owner/chef, but order it every time I eat there.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very nice place to go and have a nice diner. Service and food are great. On Beacon Street. We had the burger and Mussels. Excellent

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, mAssachusetts, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best nightcap around in the Boston area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

When it comes to bar food most of is think greasy and limited healthy options. Not the case here at the Abby. Not only is the cocktail selection wonderful, wine list very decent, the food is out of the world! Healthy tasty not the typical bar food food!!! Another the big plus the Abbey kitchen is open till very late I think almost a 1 o'clock.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Abbey also viewed

 

Been to The Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Abbey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.