We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible service and only average food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jerusalem Pita

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jerusalem Pita
10 Pleasant Street, Brookline, MA 02446
(617) 739-2400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 171 Restaurants in Brookline
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Israeli
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“terrible service and only average food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

the title says it all: I decided to go to Jerusalem Pita with a friend of mine. We ordered 2 falafel sandwiches and an order of fries. The falafel were really average - i had much better falafel in another place nearby in Coolidge corner (let alone the falafel i tried while visiting israel few years ago - absolutely non comparable !!). But what was unacceptable was the service: slow and rude. We were literally asked to leave our table as soon as we had the last bite of our falafel to make space for other customer. I understand the place is small and could get busy, but we were still chewing our last bite when the waitress asked us to go !! unacceptable.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Very greasy, yuck”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We got take out from this place and the bags were soaking wet with grease. I felt sick after eating it and had burning in my throat all night from the oil and spice. Quality and taste of food stinks. Yuck, eewwwwwww. Never go there. I'd certainly never go again.

  • Visited August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Big pieces, medium quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Big pieces of sushi compared to places such as Fagakyu, but the quality here is just average. It is tiny hole-in-the-way place, with barely any parking, and I want to like it, but I would only go if I was walking by it and saw empty seats. I'd never ever drive to get there, because for the same effort I would choose 4-5 other sushi restaurants in Brookline and beyond. It was clean and the person working there was very nice.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Pure Sushi/Sashimi in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

This is the best sushi/sashimi in Boston for pure fish, but you need to know what to get. Also, the slices/portions are HUGE. They say they buy a cut above Fugakku, etc.

It is not necessarily the best for the more exotic rolls/dishes.

My favorite is the Best Sashimi Sampler for $22, which includes 3 extra large pieces of tuna, yellowtail, and salmon (Pacific).

The spicy edamame is also awesome (free with delivery, which only costs $2 and is generally very quick). Prices are very appropriate.

Located right behind Fugaku, but don't expect much atmosphere....this is a tiny place, maybe 10 tables...but much better food than Fugaku.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“A better alternative to Rami's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

I'm sure my title may incite some violent reactions, as some people are quite protective of Rami's (the other Kosher, Mediterranean restaurant in Coolidge Corner, for the uninitiated -- yes, Coolidge Corner can support two restaurants in this narrow genre). I was never much of a fan, due to Rami's short menu, complete lack of ambience, etc. Jerusalem Pita, on the other hand, is a full-service restaurant, with many great Israeli dishes on offer. I have liked everything I've tried there. If you have a felafel or schwarma itch, there are few places to scratch it this side of the Atlantic -- Jerusalem Pita is one of them!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerusalem Pita also viewed

 
Brookline, MA
 

Been to Jerusalem Pita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerusalem Pita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.