We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Comfort and A Hidden Gem in Brookline” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bertram Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bertram Inn to your Saves list
The Bertram Inn
92 Sewall Ave, Brookline, MA 02446   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Brookline B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Classic Comfort and A Hidden Gem in Brookline”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My family stayed at the Bertram Inn in May while we were celebrating my brother’s graduation from Emerson College and our time there was excellent.

The breakfasts were delicious and there were cookies and fruit snacks in the common area. The rooms are fantastic as the management has kept true to the early 20th century style furnishing. The beds were comfortable and although each room had a different palette, they were all excellent.

All of the staff members were friendly and frequently asked if there was anything they could do to make our stay better. The innkeepers also accommodated the many adjustments we made to our reservation as our guests arrived for the main event.

One instance in particular showed how much the Bertram Inn’s patrons love the place – an older couple agreed to switch rooms at an innkeeper’s request and didn't even ask to be compensated for the change. I especially have to recognize Astrid for taking such good care of us - she even offered a complementary treat when my mother had to change rooms.

I would highly recommend The Bertram Inn to anyone coming to the Boston-Brookline area. I’d love to spend time there again in the near future.

You can see the love they got on 4sq too: https://foursquare.com/v/bertram-inn/4c6ecf0ad274b60c03a5d40d

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    49
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
38
73
12
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a great place to stay for the price! There are snacks and hot beverages available 24 hours a day. The breakfast is varied, healthy, and plentiful. The parking is reasonable and the neighborhood is good for shopping. We stayed here and walked to a show at the House of Blues. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I'm posting the same review for bothThe Bertram Inn and The Samual Sewall Inn since they are managed by the same people, share staff and kitchens, and are across the street from each other. These very nice B&B's are located in Brookline, just outside of Boston. We’ve stayed at each several times over the past two years since our daughter moved to Brookline. We find them to be very nice, with helpful staff, good breakfast and snacks, and a great location, two blocks from Beacon St and the T. These are two very old, beautiful houses, and we’ve had issues a couple of times with HVAC. They seem to recognize this problem and generally have extra space heaters or fans, depending on your need. Parking is on site for an extra $12 or so per night, which is a bargain for the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We've stayed many places in Boston while visiting our daughter who is a student at BU and this is by far our favorite. Very nice calm ambience, friendly staff, good breakfast, comfortable beds and easy walking distance to the T

Room Tip: Some traffic noise from street - ask for a room away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Beautiful, comfortable B&B in Brookline. Super friendly innkeeper that made check-in really easy and had great suggestions for local pub and grub. Cozy atmosphere and a nice relaxing vibe (compared to all the corporate hotels I've been in lately). Glad I chose to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The Bertram Inn. We very much liked the old-style charm of the décor which suits the age of the building & is a pleasant change from the standard finish of chain hotels. We found everything clean & in working order - a few moments patience was needed for the hot water to come through but then it was very hot & plentiful. We stayed in a large top floor room with two Queen beds & found it very comfortable. We enjoyed sitting downstairs in the lounge, mixing with other guests & having snacks & drinks after a day out sightseeing. There is a small fridge on the landing for guests to store their own food which is very useful. The buffet breakfast is good though one morning we did find the best things had gone by 9a.m. The staff were very friendly & exceptionally helpful. The location is great & there are lots of restaurants, banks & small shops within walking distance at Coolidge Corner. We enjoyed our visit to JFK's birthplace nearby in a street of charming old houses. As other reviewers have said it is just a short journey on the T to central Boston & I'm so glad we stayed here rather than in the city. I'd also recommend the tour of Fenway Park - interesting & a lot of fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The Inn is in a great location but it was quite disappointing. The rooms are tired and worn and have not been renovated at all. Everything was very old, dark and seemed to be in disrepair. There were numerous bulbs burned out with cobwebs on them showing how little the place was cared for. The first night we were there the hot water was out, and at breakfast the hot food had been sitting for a long time and was virtually gone by 9am.

On the positive side, staff was very nice and there were great snacks and coffee available at all times. For $300 per night we just expected so much more.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertramBrookline, General Manager at The Bertram Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi Paul, I wanted to address the concerns you expressed in your review, and perhaps shed some light on the situation. I take our guests' safety and comfort very seriously.

In regard to our rooms, I'd like to point out that the Bertram Inn was built in 1907 as a private residence, and over the last 27 years that we've owned it, each room has indeed seen many renovations. In order to create our 14 guest rooms, we have built walls and bathrooms, installed central climate control, and sourced period antiques to compliment the character of the home. We have also outfitted each room with flatscreen televisions, installed complimentary WiFi throughout the property, and provide spa-quality toiletries in each private bathroom. The older feel of an antique home and the darker decor in the first floor room you occupied are true to the period, but I can certainly understand that they are not to everyone's taste.

Regarding the hot water, you caught us at exactly the wrong time, I'm sorry to say. In order to perform maintenance on our plumbing, it is necessary to shut off the main line temporarily, and thus you suffered the inconvenience. For this, in addition to the burned-out bulbs you observed, I can only apologize. I have taken your feedback to both our housekeepers and our maintenance team, and we will strive to be better every day, for you, our valued guests.

To address our breakfast, I can tell you that we serve our full, hot breakfast daily for 2 hours, between 8 and 10am. Occasionally when several guests dine simultaneously we deplete our offerings, and promptly replenish them. I can assure you that any items that you described as having been 'sitting for a long time' were no more than 60 minutes old by 9am, and those that were running low were restocked by our Innkeepers or Cook for the second half of breakfast service. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast experience with us, especially since the feedback I typically receive are requests for our recipes! I have since spoken with our weekend staff to insure timely restocking of our home-made pastries, hot entrees, and cookies.

I'm glad you enjoyed our attentive staff and all-day refreshments, and I would invite you to try the Bertram Inn again so we can prove our commitment to you. Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve every day.

-Steve
General Manager, The Bertram & Samuel Sewall Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bertram Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bertram Inn

Address: 92 Sewall Ave, Brookline, MA 02446
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Boston, the Bertram Inn serves as an oasis from the hustle of downtown Boston. Located two miles from the heart of the city and one block from public transportation, guests are able to remain close to the cultural and business centers of Boston yet return to the tranquility of a bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Bertram Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bertram Hotel Brookline

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bertram Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.