We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Longwood Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Longwood Inn to your Saves list
Longwood Inn
123 Longwood Ave., Brookline, MA 02446   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Brookline B&B and Inns
bridgeport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

I have stayed here 4 times over the past 10 years and each time was a charm. Close to the green line, many stores and places to eat. A park and tennis courts behind and the area is very quiet. They may not be available in the evening which means more privacy in the public spaces there but there is an answer machine in the evening. If you are looking for best western or holiday inn, this is not it but more my style. A wonderful tranquil inn.

  • Liked — tranquility
  • Stayed March 2003, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    61
    23
    4
    9
See reviews for
38
62
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

Really nice building with plenty of parking. It's in a nice part of the city that i'd never been to before, also close to allston, a neighborhood with lots of bars, shops, etc... The main attraction to me was that it was within walking distance of a Green Line T stop and only one stop from fenway park!

Dont expect anything fancy though. It reminded me more of European accomodations. Small rooms, stiff mattress, very few ammenities, etc.. The staff (all 2 of them) were freindly enough and they have a fully equipped kitchen that you can use. Theres even a grocery store within walking distance.

Bottom line, if you want room service, egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy towels, and an overly helpful concierge, cough up some more cash and stay in a chain hotel. If you just need a bed to sleep off your post Red Sox game hangover for 100 bucks a night this is your place!

  • Liked — Close to Fenway Park
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

We were looking for a place just ouside downtown Boston with easy public transport connections around the city and the Longwood Inn was perfect for that . It provided easy access (8-10 min walk to Green line (C or D)). Also, it is an area with great restaurants, grocery stores (Trader Joe's) and a lot of coffee shops. It is very safe neighborhood and the Inn backs onto a school/public park, which our kids loved. We stayed in the one bedroom apartment (full kitchen) that had a double, single, and fold out double futon. The room was quite nice and quiet. The only complaint is that three of the five mornings we were there we had very limited hot water -- it seems as though between 8-10am their hot water supply can't keep up with demand. Since we weren't on a tight morning schedule it wasn't a huge problem and shouldn't really be a deal breaker as the location and cost made up for the inconvenience.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

I called Longwood Inn over 10 times since the night of February 23rd, 2008. Nobody answered until morning of February 24th, and the female worker who answered the phone was very disrespectful- speaking with a haughty attitude and disrupting my reservation request. She told me that I shouldn't get this confused with the Best Western Inn at Longwood. I simply asked her if Longwood Inn was near MIT. She said no (which turned out to be false after I searched it up on google maps). So I assumed that the Best Western Inn at Longwood was close to MIT. I asked her if she would give me the phone number for that one because we were planning on doing college visits. She said: "We have nothing to do with that place," and wouldn't give me their number. After the phone call, I decided to call back to see if I could place the order without being interrupted, but nobody picked up in the 4 calls that I made afterwards. What a mean person!!! There is a fine line between being competitive and being outright bothersome. Even when I go to Best Buy to look for software product and they don't have it, the customer service representatives are always willing to point me to a nearby store that does. I do not recommend this place to anybody.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

We stayed at the Longwood for two nights, and were reasonably happy there, given the money spent. We got the basement room at the rear, which was fine - it still had decent enough windows overlooking the park behind, although it was at street level so for privacy reasons we kept the blinds drawn for the most part. And despite what others have written about this room being cold, it was hotter than we would have liked, with an enormous heater fitted to the wall. The furnishings were basic and OK, the bathroom was useable if old, and cleanliness was OK. Main problem was noise from people walking across the floor above (not too bad) and the back door being slammed - most of this was by the actual employees coming and going at all hours, which I wasn't that impressed about, as they also shouted to each other up the rear stairs at 6am.

The ground floor kitchen looked nice, but had hardly any dishes or cutlery so was virtually useless except for the fridge.

Location was just OK - a bit of a walk from the Longwood "T" stop, but good access to shops and restaurants on Beacon and Harvard St.

Overall, would probably try something different next time, as it wasn't anything fantastic, but by no means is it a dump.

  • Liked — Cheap, decent location.
  • Disliked — Moronic staff.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
'Merican
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2007

I've stayed at the Longwood Inn several times. The best part about it is that it is an Inn - the "home" feeling of a Bed & Breakfast without the strange, nosy people who typically run a B&B. You can wash your clothes and have a home-cooked meal.

The building is old, so don't expect fine amenities. It is reasonably clean, by Boston standards. There is a nice park literally in the backyard. Coolidge Corners is a couple of blocks away.

The best way to reserve is to contact the hotel directly. They like to have a deposit paid by check. Let them know if you will be late. They like to keep daytime hours - but they have a "system" for late arrivals.

I will definitely stay at the Longwood again.

  • Liked — It is an Inn, with kitchen and living romm - not a Hotel
  • Disliked — Staff isn't as online-booking savvy as they could be
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caliifornia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2006

This is a lovely quiet clean inn with total New England ambience. It is the best place for you to stay if you are visiting someone in Beth Israel or one of the other hospitals which are only 2-3 blocks away. The stately entryway with dark wood panelling and elegant banisters makes you feel like you're in a 19th century manor house... in fact you are. My room had fine polished wood furniture, good cable and was clean w. clean towels and was comfy warm all nite at the end of December.
Shared bathroom but it's spotless. Big common kitchen to make coffee in the morning, also spotless, and laundry machines if you need them. Low rates when I was there, it appeared to be a quiet period... best place I stayed on this trip and wish I had found it before blowing $$$ at other rip-off places on Boylston St.

If you are travelling alone and just need a quiet comfy place near the hospitals... nothing can beat this for price, convenience, and quality.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Creaky stairs
  • Tips/Secrets — Rates as low as $60 (Xmas weekend)
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longwood Inn

Address: 123 Longwood Ave., Brookline, MA 02446
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Longwood Inn is a converted 1900’s Victorian mansion in a safe, upscale residential neighborhood near many of Boston’s major attractions. With sensible rates, this is one of Boston’s best bargains. The Inn has 21 rooms and a one-bedroom apartment available nightly or for extended stays. All rooms feature free parking, telephones with free local calls, free internet access, flat screen cable televisions and air conditioning. Housekeeping services are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Longwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longwood Hotel Brookline

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.