We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Longwood Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Longwood Inn to your Saves list
Longwood Inn
123 Longwood Ave., Brookline, MA 02446   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Brookline B&B and Inns
Brookline
1 review
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great location. Excellent value. Free parking and friendly staff. Bed was on the small side which was OK for us at 250 Lbs. total weight. Would be a tight fit for larger people. Mattress was way too soft but OK for one night. Room looked like it had a recent renovation including the bath. The inn had lots of charm. The wifi could use a bit more bandwidth. Would stay their again when in Boston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    58
    22
    4
    9
See reviews for
37
60
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chilmark, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

There's nothing wrong with the Longwood Inn but I'll look for another place next time I want to stay in Brookline. We reserved for a Saturday night and were told that we had to stay 2 nights and said okay. We arrived on Friday and the man at he desk said we'd havee to pay for the thursday night we missed. they had booked us for Thursday-Friday, not Friday-Saturday. He was nice about changing the reservation and we were lucky that had a room open on Saturday. We had asked for a room that wasn't on the first floor. The woman who took the reservation told us that the apartment was open and was up a flight of stairs, which it was as you climbed up from the driveway. The bedroom windows were on the street level and noisy. Luckily they had a room on the 3rd floor that was open for the 2 nights we needed. They don't give breakfast but have a kitchen you can use. The location is great, an easy walk to Harvard St.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123LongwoodInn, General Manager at Longwood Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
There apparently was a misunderstanding regarding the dates when this reservation was taken. I did not take the reservation myself and I cannot say if it was the inn’s fault, the guest’s fault or a combination of the two. According to our reservation records, the booking at the Longwood Inn for Jarlan was for Thursday and Friday nights. Why he was told there was a 2 night minimum stay I don’t know. This is definitely not the case. We have a great many guests stay for one night only.

On Friday morning, after he had not shown up the night before, we removed him from our schedule thinking that he had decided not to stay and neglected to notify us. This has happened more times than I care to think about, even with people that have paid deposits in advance. I was in the office later in the day on Friday when he did arrive. Thinking that he had just not shown up I told him that I expected payment for the previous night, especially since the inn had otherwise been completely booked out. At this point he informed me that he had booked it starting on Friday, not Thursday. Since the apartment that had been booked for him was available for Friday and Saturday I decided to give it to him for those nights and not worry about Thursday night.

The neighborhood around the inn is fairly quiet. However, when he found out that the bedroom faced out onto the street he told me he was concerned about not being able to sleep due to traffic noise. I instead gave him a room on the top floor facing the back of the house away from the street. I also gave him credit for the difference in price between the room and the apartment.

I am sorry that Jarlan had to go through this when he arrived here and that he will not be back. We try to make everyone’s stay at the Longwood Inn a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

For anyplace else to stay. I travel to Boston from time to time for business, pleasure, and to visit family. I am always trying to find that "just right" place. No need to anymore. The inn is beautiful and comfortable and affordable. There is a lot to walk to, and there is easy access to the "T", which makes everything else in Boston easy to reach. The neighborhood is a beautiful residential neighborhood, but just a few blocks from a lot of stores / restaurants / bars, etc... The inn itself is just like "home" if your home is huge, old, classic, and perfectly-maintained. You need to be OK with stairs and walking though, otherwise you will need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Lovely old world charm and warmth about this place. My daughter and I had a very comfortable large room which was clean. We found it easy to get about Boston from here and found good local shops and restaurants too. The staff were helpful but it was Rhonda that made our stay very easy from the point of view of finding our way around and organizing tickets - we are hugely grateful to her for all her help and time. And, a huge thanks too to one of their long term guests who invited us to stay there and added all the finishing touches to make our stay extra special.

Room Tip: We had a large room on the top floor with 2 double beds so plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Service staff just excellent. Cannot wait to return. We were at a wedding at this beautiful castle and it was just outstanding. The decor is just charming and all the staff is just charming. Will return to this venue soon again. Thank you to all who took care of us.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA,, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We found this reasonably priced hotel in the outskirts of Boston and were enticed by it's character and charm. It is a recently restored home built about 100 years ago, and I understand it was residence for the same family (name) until just a few years ago. What we found was in nicely restored condition. No 'old' smells from the furniture or walls. Although from the picture alone you might think the Longwood Inn is a B&B, it is not, with no food provided. No matter, there are plenty of restaurants in short walking distance, with a bagel chain only two blocks away.

Our particular room (21) was very spacious as you can see from the photos. It was set up to sleep as many as four. We do not think the fireplace is usable, but when heat is needed the room is equipped with unobtrusive electric wall heaters via thermostat. NO airconditioning. The bathroom is very new with granite (I think) counter and all new bathroom fixtures. Modern (3-prong) power outlets were plentiful in the BR and BA. A good but smallish LCD TV was mounted on the wall and worked OK although I don't think anything came in high definition. The Wi-Fi service was OK, but we found another stonger open SSID that was much better; good enough for Netflix streaming.

The staff was only guaranteed to be there 8-5, but in fact was present just about all the time (but NOT like a regular hotel). As a result we never found the front door to be locked in off-hours. The staff was very helpful and responsive at all times.
They provide a "fully equiped" kitchen for the use of the guests, and we did. Appliances were new and fully functional. Coffee was available every morning, although you might have to make the next pot. However, the refridgerator was nearly full and we had to scrounge for the little space we needed. I think the issue was that some of the staff was in residence, and some of the guests were long-term (weeks), and cooking most meals there. Nevertheless we were able to make breakfast for ourselves (4) every morning without to much hassle.

Now for the negatives. Our friends were not so lucky with their room (34). It was perhaps 1/2 the size of ours, BR and BA alike. They were not able to get enough air into the room to sleep comfortably at night. By contrast, we just needed to open our window(s) to get plenty of cool air when needed. But that brings us to another negative; our bedroom faced the street and the road noise at night was pretty high even with the windows closed. It was all residential traffic, but you have to understand that the whole Boston area is very dense, so there is plenty of it.

In summary, our experience was quite possitive (hence the Very Good rating), but our friends would no doubt rate the room Average or even Poor. So if you want the same experience we had, ask for room 21 or similar, and avoid the third floor rooms. There are two first floor bedrooms that open off of the main room, due to guest traffic and other noise, I would avoid them too.

Room Tip: see review
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for a week .Ideal place ,close to T ,warm and cozy and self catering-Very helpful staff.Goes out of their way to help Will go back.We could tour all of Boston as there are two nearby T locations and a good quality Trader Joes 5 minutes walk away.Lovely old biulding

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longwood Inn

Address: 123 Longwood Ave., Brookline, MA 02446
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Longwood Inn is a converted 1900’s Victorian mansion in a safe, upscale residential neighborhood near many of Boston’s major attractions. With sensible rates, this is one of Boston’s best bargains. The Inn has 21 rooms and a one-bedroom apartment available nightly or for extended stays. All rooms feature free parking, telephones with free local calls, free internet access, flat screen cable televisions and air conditioning. Housekeeping services are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Longwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longwood Hotel Brookline

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.