We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Inn to your Saves list
Beacon Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1087 Beacon Street, Brookline, MA 02446   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Brookline B&B and Inns
Bilbao, España
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The place was good, the room was big and very comfortable, with a fridge where you could store some food or beverages. The staff was very nice and helpful. There're two locations for Beacon Inn, be sure to book the right one. The I choose, 1087 Beacon St is just in front of the Tube (T), so it's very easy to get to the center of Boston. You can't park outside the place at night, so be careful and book a parking spot if you bring a car (you can do that with the help of the staff in reception).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon I, Manager at Beacon Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We hope you think of us again if you return to the area. As far as our parking, we do offer limited spaces at both locations and we simply ask that our guests call in advance to reserve a spot and we will always do our best to accommodate your needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    42
    19
    12
    23
See reviews for
38
32
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

On a whim we stayed at the Beacon Inn. Ali was very accommodating and helpful. I love the old character of the brownstone style and the Inn has that. Our room was spacious, comfy and clean:) one thing that upset me was the tenant in the next room was very loud coming in at 12:30-12:45AM. There are wood floors in the hallways and it echoes footsteps, keys rattling, and door knobs turning/ shutting. I happen to be a light sleeper, but even with the air on....I still was up for an hour waiting for who ever it was to finally settle into their room. Breakfast also was mediocre. A positive....you can get on the T directly across the street! So easy to get into the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Beacon Inn is a run-of-the-mill bed and breakfast. If you're looking for a five star hotel, this is not the place for you; but if you are simply seeking a decent place to sleep for a couple of nights, look no further. My family and I stayed at the Beacon Inn on a trip to see multiple colleges in Boston. We picked this particular location because of its great location, with Boston University and Fenway Park being a mere 15-20 minute walk away and a T stop right out front.

The rooms at the Beacon Inn are impressive. We stayed in the Fenway (on the second floor), which had enough room for 5-6 people. Just be aware that they will charge you for every extra person staying in the same room. The atmosphere was awesome. It gave off that cool old brownstone vibe while being equipped with a flat screen television and cable with HBO and Xfinity. The beds were very comfortable too! My only complaint in regards to the room is the very, very small bathroom.

Breakfast is completely free and is served right there on the first floor, but it isn't anything special. They provide a basic continental breakfast (muffins, danishes, bread, cereal) with a toaster and a Keurig on hand. In all honesty, the best part of this breakfast display is the Nutella.

The only other thing worth mentioning about the Beacon Inn is the parking situation. We called ahead of time to reserve a spot for our Chevy Traverse. They said that it wouldn't be a problem finding a spot for such a large vehicle. Wrong. We wound up parking at least a quarter mile away from the inn, and we paid $9 more a day. That was an utter disappointment.

Overall, the Beacon Inn isn't bad. Give this place a go if you need a place to stay in Boston for a short while!

Room Tip: There is no elevator. Don't choose a top floor if you're a heavy packer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon I, Manager at Beacon Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We would just like to take a moment to clarify our parking policies. Our guests are almost always able to park on-site however we are occasionally unable to accommodate large vehicles given the size and layout of our parking spaces. In response to some feedback we received about the price difference at the overflow lot, we have since found a more convenient and affordable alternative. We thank you for your feedback and hope you return to the Beacon Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena,IL
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We chose this B & B solely for location, right across the street from our daughter's apartment. We were there to help care for a new baby, so it was perfect. The Isabelle Gardner room on the first floor was home for 6 nights. Although the T passes right by, we were not bothered by its noise or the noise from Beacon St. The room was clean, comfortable, easily accessible and well-appointed. We had two small issues that were handled well by management who truly wanted to make things right for us. As a result I can recommend the Beacon Inn without hesitation. You will enjoy the walking distance to restaurants, shopping, the T, Fenway, major hospitals, etc. I would certainly stay here and take the T into downtown rather than stay in an very pricey downtown hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I came for a conference and saw that the Beacon Inn was much cheaper than the conference venue. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the internet was free, and they had nutella with breakfast. The location is right off of the C line in a nice area with a grocery store (whole foods) and quite a few nice restaurants. MIT and Fenway Park are also within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were looking for something within walking distance to Fenway - and we found it! We will stay here again - loved the quaint, historic building. We stayed in the Bostonian Room on the main floor - it was huge - very comfortable for a family of 4 (although we were taken aback that the room opened into the bathroom - gotta love the old brownstones). The room does open directly into the lobby - so you may opt for something more private. We didn't mind...

Pleasant, resourceful staff and the continental breakfast was adequate.

Our only issue was parking... the distance to the lot was fine, we were just surprised to see that it was a T-stop parking lot. It was full when we got there - so we were redirected to 1200 Beacon St, which was actually a Holiday Inn parking lot.

Overall, this was a great experience, and we look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon I, Manager at Beacon Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are so glad to hear you had a great experience here and we look forward to seeing you again! We apologize for the issues you had finding parking during your stay. Typically we are able to accommodate all our guests in our on-site parking at the rear of the building but due to our limited number of spaces we do occasionally have to send overflow parking to an off-site lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We choose this B&B because of its location. It was less than .4 miles to Fenway. They let us check in at 10 am and we were able to park there which was great! Room was clean and spacious. Comfortable bed. Only issue was with owner who was extremely rude to his employee right in front of us. Would recommend this place for anyone looking to stay close to Fenway for a cheap price!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Inn

Address: 1087 Beacon Street, Brookline, MA 02446
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beacon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Beacon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Inn Hotel Brookline

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.