We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Inn to your Saves list
Beacon Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1087 Beacon Street, Brookline, MA 02446   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Brookline B&B and Inns
Willoughby, Ohio
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My daughter and I came to visit Boston University 2 weeks ago. The hotel was great. The location can't be beat. We were able to easily reach the hotel via the T from the airport. It is just a short, safe walk to the center of the university. After a long day of meetings at the university and visiting various housing neighborhoods, we were able to take the T downtown for dinner. The T stop is right outside the front door of the inn. Our room was clean and in good repair. The inn has character and charm. The breakfast is continental and adequate to get the day started. The front desk staff could not have been more helpful. They allowed us to check in early upon our arrival and held our luggage after we checked out so that we could explore the city prior to our evening departure. Considering the prices of other hotels we explored in Boson, it was a very good value. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in the upstairs room which required climbing 4 flights of stairs. Be sure to ask which leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    42
    19
    12
    23
See reviews for
38
32
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Every room in this B&B is slightly different so you're not quite sure which one you're going to get, which I think makes for a nice surprise. It's slightly old (old-like-it-hasn't-been-renovated-in-a-while-sort-of-old), but the place is generally quite clean and the rooms are huge! (Our room at least was pretty big.)

There are no elevators so be warned if you have heavy luggage. We booked rather last minute and got put on the fourth and highest floor, but thankfully we were only carrying a small gym bag.

The breakfast spread isn't too shabby, but there are no tables or chairs so you have to take your food back up to the room or stand around and eat it while you watch the receptionist work, which can be a little awkward. Just sayin'.

All in all, a very good value-for-money inn/motel/b&b.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We went to Boston for three days and stayed in two rooms at 1087 Beacon Inn. Both the rooms were large, clean and had a good television with free Wifi. The bathrooms were small but clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location of Beacon Inn is excellent. The Hawes St. Station on the Boston's C line is less than 30 seconds away. This along with Boston's dense public transport system meant that we never had to take a cab or rental car. For the price and location, we felt that the beacon Inn was an excellent deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We came in for a college visit and a little sight seeing for 3 days... the location was great. The room was spacious and had our own private bath. For the price the place was awesome...a little outdated but had the charm of an older "historic" bed and breakfast we were looking for. The parking was a little tight but that is everywhere in Boston! The staff was VERY friendly and helpful.. would definitely recommend a stay or 2... close to public transportation and local places to eat

Room Tip: we were in room 2 so you could hear alot of the front desk business but it didn't bother us any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Came in for a college visit and found that 1087 was a great location. Right on the green line and the T so easy to use. The young people that manned the desk were very helpful and really nice. The Esplande room was very quite. If you like older homes and B&B 's , then this one is worth it. Also a block down the road is a nice local restaurant for breakfast and a tavern for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevelan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

First of all...it's true that the Beacon Inn is not a "B&B" in the traditional sense. The provided breakfast is not a sit-down, prepared affair, but rather continental-style in offerings and variety. Nothing special, but adequate with a good selection of cereals, pastries, and oatmeal. Bonus points for the cereal being available at night as well (midnight snack!). Our room was clean, comfortable, and cozy just as described online (a more spacious offering with a king-sized bed and private bath). But the best feature of the Inn is the staff - the young front desk attendants were exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us during our stay. For the location, price, and service the Beacon Inn provides an excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay at Beacon Inn. The room was clean and had all the necessary accommodations. The location is very convenient, at the walking distance to the medical area. The girl at the front desk, Julie, was very friendly and helpful; she created a great atmosphere to make us feel more at home. We will definitely choose this hotel again in our future travels to Boston.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Inn

Address: 1087 Beacon Street, Brookline, MA 02446
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beacon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Beacon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Inn Hotel Brookline

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.