We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but kinda pricey...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches Restaurant & Bar

Beaches Restaurant & Bar
1919 SE Columbia River Dr, Vancouver, WA 98661-8028
(360) 699-1592
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 595 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, but kinda pricey...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I tried this place out because it was a nice day and it was on the river. The food was ok, but was not really worth what we paid for it....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    146
    42
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“VERY Noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Beautiful views of the Columbia River!!! Food is very good and the service is too. The only downside is this is probably the noisiest restaurant in Vancouver. Sitting on the patio helps a lot when you need to carry on a conversation. Even the jet airplanes aren't as bad as sitting inside. We'll be back for the views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“A Truly Memorable Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My wife and I were celebrating our 38th wedding anniversary with a long-delayed 16-day driving trip to the northwest. On our stop in Vancouver we wanted someplace special and selected Beaches on the basis of good reviews here. I contacted them from home and told them of our visit and asked for a window table of which I was assured by return e-mail. On the evening of our visit, a beautiful and warm spring evening, I realized we were running late and called to slip our res by 30 minutes. I was assured it would be no problem.

In the event we actually arrived close to our scheduled time and, despite the fact that half of the local population had turned out to celebrate the weather, we were accommodated immediately. We were delayed en route to our table by the hostess climbing up on a stool to inscribe our names on their chalk board and to congratulate us on the occasion. Ali, the right and the left hand, (anywhere else she would be called the GM) likewise provided us a warm greeting and a window table. The hostess came up to our table and removed and replaced our plain vanilla menus with special ones with our names and the occasion printed on them. Our server Crystal was warm, welcoming, and congratulatory. We had multiple occasions during the visit to exchange stories and experiences with both Ali and Crystal whilst enjoying our meals on this very special evening. The complimentary dessert capped the evening.

Ali clearly sets the tone for this restaurant and it is, to our taste, an excellent one.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Beaches Restaurant is one of my favorites, mainly due to the great location, on the river, and the always friendly staff. They always make you feel so welcome and it's just a happy place to be. On a nice day, it's tough to beat the location. You have the river for boating activities to watch, including large barges. You are also very close to the airport for plane takeoffs and landings. Occasionally you'll get a military jet or helicopter. There is a walking path between the river and the restaurant for more distractions.
Today I had the crab and lobster cakes, and they were great. I'm a big fan of their clam chowder also.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A great restaurant with stunning views of the Columbia River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Went with friends and it was such a fun place. The wait service was fabulous but the hostess was rude and a little dumb. The food is great but a little pricey considering it is basically bar food. With tip it was over $25 per person. Still a great place to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaches Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Beaches Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaches Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.