We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rolling grassy hills, trails, mosquitoes by the side creeks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salmon Creek Park

Salmon Creek Park
1117 N.E. 117th Street, Vancouver, WA 98685
360-696-8171
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 59 things to do in Vancouver
Attraction details
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Rolling grassy hills, trails, mosquitoes by the side creeks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The part of Salmon Creek Park I'm describing is south of Salmon Creek Rd., east of WSUV's campus, and borders Pleasant Valley Middle School on NE 50th Ave. From the school parking lot that is mostly vacant on Sundays, but really full the other six days, an asphalt trail suitable for strollers meanders on the backsides of homes down to Salmon Creek. A large gazebo with large picnic tables sits on a hill and makes a nice spot for a family picnic although a bit of a trek with dogs, toddlers, and a stroller. It was also a bit breezy the day we went, but probably nicer on a more balmy day. As the trail gets steeper, the asphalt turns to decomposed granite. The trail continues down to the main creek but some narrower, dirt trails parallel the much wider, level trail that fans out into sort of a meadow. Just know that the narrow trails that go through some much slower moving water had some hungry mosquitoes. A warning or two: probably better to walk with someone and not alone. Also someone seems to have a dog walking gig sometimes with eight or so unleashed dogs that seem well-behaved.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What is happening today?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We went in the evening for a late picnic dinner and Salmon Creek Park was absolutely filthy! What is wrong with people today? It seems as though people do not feel the need to pick up after themselves. There were abandoned items floating in the water...trash EVERYWHERE and no one spoke English. There is a fee to pay when entering (which we missed because of the time) however, I would have been outraged if I did have to pay...Such a disappointment...mostly in people.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great walking trail.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

There is a 6mile trail (round trip), and it's all paved. Many times we see kids riding their bikes with their families. We've seen Osprey, Hawks, Bald Eagles, Herons, Egrits, and countless other small animals and birds on the walking trail. It is beautiful year round. Lots of colors in the spring and fall.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful neighborhood park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Nice park on a nice lake. Nice place to have a picnic with the kids or family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“PARASITE INFECTED WATER!! MY DAUGHTER HAD TO GO TO THE EMERGENCY ROOM!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

I have went swimming ay Salmon creek before and it seemed to be fine, but this last time I took my children , my daughter was swimming and when she got out of the water she had 35 huge red bumps with BLACK in the middle! I took her to the ER and FOUR DOCTORS couldnt figure out what the [...] it is. :(

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salmon Creek Park also viewed

 

Been to Salmon Creek Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salmon Creek Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.