We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and Switch” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7301 N. E. 41st Street, Vancouver, WA 98662   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #5 of 27 hotels in Vancouver
Bellevue WA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bait and Switch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom suite for 1 night. When we arrived we were told firs told they were over sold and then they changed it to there had been a traveler with medical condition which took our room. We were offered 2 separate rooms (not connected by a door) since I was travelling with my family I could not separate us for safety so we squeezed into a studio room. No offer to reduce our charges were offered since we arrived at 10pm at night I am sure that is why we got the bad deal.

The next day I met the people who had this room before us. They were "upgraded" the same day to a 2 bedroom suite which would have been available to us and no word of this "medical patient" in the hotel.

I really feel if you pre-book you should get your room you bought or get credited for the smaller crappy room we got. I would not go back to this chain if this is their policy to lie to customers about room availability.

Moral of the story stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear LiLiBellevueWA,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and surpass the very high standards of service our guests expect.

I am disappointed to hear that we have left you with a less than memorable experience. I sincerely apologize for the lapse in service with regard to your reservation and sorry if you did not find the room set up to your liking. We always aim to provide the highest level of service and deliver the best accommodation and we deeply regret that we were not able to exceed or at least meet your expectations on this occasion.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    25
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
45
30
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgan Hill, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This place has really gone down hill. We come up here every year for a week long family reunion. We have stayed here several times over the years but this year was horrible and we will never be back They overbook their hotel assuming guests will cancel or not show up. Guess what? it didn’t happen and they were way overbooked all week. We had a reservation for 5 nights for a 2 bedroom suite. We were displaced on the first night. Sorry, no rooms available even though we had a confirmed reservation made 6 moths ago and a priority club reward member. They could care less. So load all the luggage back in the car with wife and two kids. Drive 10 miles away to the hotel they picked for us for a “comp room”. Told us to come back tomorrow and our 2 bedroom suite would be available and waiting for us. So, after a very long day of outdoor activities and driving, we come back late on the second day at 11:00 PM. Unload all the luggage again and shuffle into the lobby and guess what? Yes they had a room but not what we reserved. They put us a room with not enough beds. WTF. I slept on the floor so my wife and kids could have the beds. Staff didn’t seem to care. It was happening to other guests. Every time you walked by the front desk, staff was apologizing for something or another. Lots of unhappy guests here.
Breakfast was extremely weak. Same thing every morning. It was luke warm powered eggs and mushy hash browns. The usual toast, bagel, mini muffin, oatmeal and yogurt cup. Sometimes there was fresh fruit. They were getting ready to tear apart the breakfast area for a remodel and on the last day construction started. It was as if the week before they gave up on their breakfast spread.
So, if you want to take a chance on your “Confirmed reservation” and maybe get a room and then nibble on a very light breakfast, then go ahead and take a chance and stay at the Staybridge Suites-Vancouver. My kids were calling it the “DON’T Stay bridge Hotel”. There are a lot of other choices around that will treat you a whole lot better. Never again for our family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in june, after a road trip from California through Oregon. Overall, this place was a happy experience, and one of the cheapest places to stay, but clean and nice. Some other travellers have complained about noise, but we had no problems. Nice outdoor area, breakfast could have been more interesting, but not exactly bad. Staff helpful and friendly, definitely a recommended place to stay. A nice surprise was the kitchenette, complete with dishwasher and fridge. Only drawback was the lack of public transportation in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I were stuck in Portland due to a cancelled flight home and no hotels in the airport area had rooms available. Just by going online and looking for an available hotel, we ended up talking to a representative in one of those companies that are connected to multiple hotels and they suggested the Staybridge and booked us a room there. When I called the hotel to get directions, I was told that they did not have my reservation! Some glitch with the booking agent...but instead of abandoning us, the person at the Staybridge front desk found us a room that had not been cleaned yet, so was considered unavailable, had it cleaned and prepared and told us to come on in! We were so glad it worked out! Not only are the personnel there well trained in customer service, but this place had what they called the Pantry open 24/7 with free snacks, water or juice (Ben and Jerry's ice cream, too!), and in the morning they offer a really lovely breakfast buffet, also complimentary -- much superior to what I have had at the Best Westerns I've stayed at. The room was spacious, included a kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, sink, dishes, etc. and even microwave popcorn right there! A couch, chairs, comfortable bed, and flat screen TV. What more could we have asked for after all the stress we had been through at the airport and not getting to our room until midnight! Amazing. If we ever get back to the Vancouver/Portland area, this is where I will want to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Please note that this is a personal opinion. We had an unexpected trip to Vancouver and we normally stay at a Residence Inn but due to the time frame they didn't have any rooms available.
We had never stayed at a Staybridge so I made a reservation on their website.
When we arrived I had the printed reservation in hand but they couldn't find it in their system.
They gave us a "discounted" room for the night and then a very nice room for the next three nights.
I know that mistakes happen, but we really never felt comfortable the whole stay. This hotel is in
better condition than the Residence Inn, but the atmosphere isn't as nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear za travel,

I appreciate your willingness to share your experience regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. It is disappointing to know you did not enjoy your overall experience. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducka62
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is the best, of all the places we have stayed at, on our 5 night trip. The Staybridge Suites goes above and beyond in accommodations for their guests. We had a great room, comfortable bed with crisp clean sheets, a kitchenette, separate bathroom from the vanity area, and a nice view. The price was very reasonable. We will stay here again whenever we are in the Vancouver/Portland area.we can't say enough about this, very happy with Hotels.com and the selection of this location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Pros: Excellent staff, clean rooms, nice bathroom, breakfast Buffet, large flat screen tv, free WiFi.
Cons: The bed was not very comfortable, very springy for our liking. The breakfast buffet was limited and not well stocked. Small workout room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area

Address: 7301 N. E. 41st Street, Vancouver, WA 98662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites Vancouver/Portland Area extends the best service and value in the area. Our premier location is near the Vancouver Mall (Westfield Center), Delta Park, Club Green Meadows and Vancouver Tennis Center. Located minutes from the Portland Airport and companies such as SEH America, Bonneville Power Administration, Papa Murphy s, Sharp, EDS/Hewlett Packard, Prestige Healthcare, Columbia Machine, Karcher, Underwriters Laboratory, Evergreen Healthcare, Earthlink/New Edge Networks and Kiewit Construction make it an excellent choice for business travelers.Our complimentary hot breakfast buffet served daily will be a perfect start to your day! Settle in to our great room with a complimentary cold beer, glass of wine or soft drink during our legendary evening Sundowner Reception during the week. We also have a 24 hour business center and BridgeMart convenience center. Here for a while? Enjoy our free laundry center! Other services include free wireless Internet access, a outdoor heated pool and spa, sport court and BBQ Pavilion.Each of our rooms is a spacious apartment style studio, one bedroom, or two bedroom suite complete with a full kitchen with microwave, stove top, dishwasher and full size refrigerator making it perfect for guests staying more than a few nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Staybridge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.