We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service, Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy O's Pacific Rim Grill - CLOSED

Tommy O's Pacific Rim Grill
4101 SE 192nd Ave, Vancouver, WA 98683
360-892-2484
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 41st Drive
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly Service, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Tommy O's has not disappointed us...ever! Friendly people, good food, fair prices. Their calamari appetizer is one of my favorites, along with the fries, and several other apps. Their halibut is one of the best fish n chips around. Yummy!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Halibut and ambiance was outstanding!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We've been here before, and every time I want to lick the plate and kiss the chef. There is something for everyone on the menu from sushi to pork to beef. I thought the Sea Bass couldn't be beat, but the Macadamia Crusted Halibut was even better. We had a party of six from an Open Table reservation, and they sat us right on time, even though the hostess said Open Table shows more tables available than they really had. The drinks are a little overpriced, as an $80 bill for two is a little pricey for the area. It was 4 drinks, one wine , one appetizer and one entree. The decor is calming and nicely lit for dinner, the owner circles the tables. Our waitress was very friendly, and split the checks for three couples with a smile. We will be back!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Went here after I read the reviews. It's was great. The service was top notch. The appetizers (Calamari Steak) a little small portion wise, but tasty and tender. For dinner Kal Bi ribs, and the wife had chicken. Great flavor on both, good portion size, cooked perfect. Dessert was coconut custard and cheesecake. Very good, very very sweet on the custard dish. My only negatives on the place would be its pricey, and noisy. Not a place for a quiet dinner.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friday harbor
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“very nice evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We took a chance on a new place and were very happy with what we found! We were immediately taken care of by a very good and observant server. (Staisha 1008). We chose to sit in lounge as the dining room was closing soon, fun night, great music and happy crowd of quite a few regulars around us. Excellent oysters and sashimi to start, followed by more yummy choices. Only set back was 2nd mai tai at happy hour price was significanty lacking alcohol that the first one at regular price had, but our server took care of this too!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for sushi newbies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

For those of you intimidated by strangely named cuisine, this is the place to lose your inhibitions.
Although we are seafood junkies, this was only our second experience with these delicate delights.
The extraordinarily informative wait staff patiently described everything on the extensive menu. We had their Spider Roll stuffed with soft-shell crab with an excellent sauce and an avocado, crab, spicy tuna, coconut Tommy O roll, both excellent. Crunchy coconut shrimp and the Macadamia nut halibut as a main course were both superb. Desert was the chocolate lava cake, in honor of the surrounding Cascades.
Our only minor criticism might be the acoustics; it was relatively noisy for such a well appointed place.
It is not inexpensive, but great value for the price.
We will be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy O's Pacific Rim Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy O's Pacific Rim Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.