We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Food - Comfortable Setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chutneys Fine Indian Cuisine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chutneys Fine Indian Cuisine
3000 Se 164th Ave, Vancouver, WA
(360) 254-7254
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 595 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Tasty Food - Comfortable Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Chutney's offers a more refined dining experience than any other Indian cuisine venue in Vancouver. The ambiance is tastefully done and the staff are helpful.

Our meals were tasty and presented well. Food was hot on arrival ("the first duty of food is to be hot"). Sadly, the nan was old and cardboard-like. This would have been a five star experience except for the nan. Skip the nan.

Do try the Idian white wine (Sula wineries). It was very good!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ownership has changed... and so has the quality :?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

As you can see from my earlier post, that I loved this restaurant. I have since been back, and learned that the original owner (Usha) has moved on, and the food now the food is not as good. It is still the best Indian food in Vancouver, but it is not nearly as tasty as it once was.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tasty variety available in lunch buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was surprised that our beloved Chutneys appears to have changed hands and yet retained it's name. But after sampling their buffet lunch I was glad to see that the food is still very tasty and the levels of service still seem to be high. I came for lunch with the gal I went to lunch with almost every day for 12 years when I worked at Standard in downtown Portland. I'm glad to see ethnic food more available locally in Vancouver.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My lager beer was as spicy as my food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

As the title inplies. I ordered "Make your eyes water.". and the food was simply slightly hotter than mild. The ingredient quality was OK, but the flavor of the spices was unisnpired. Since the place was patronized by other Indians I was hopeful the food would be better than what I got. If this constitutes good best in the Portland - Vancouver area then maybe you should visit somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Top Indian Restaurant in the Portland - Vancouver area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have eaten at Chutney's three times and have found the food to be outstanding each time. The selection is better than other Indian restaurants and the food is beautiful to look at as well as being quite tasty.

The restaurant (even the restrooms!) is tastefully decorated and comfortable.

Definitely one of our favorite Indian restaurants anywhere!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chutneys Fine Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Chutneys Fine Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chutneys Fine Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.