We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7205 NE 41st Street, Vancouver, WA 98662   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Vancouver
Olympia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Easily the friendliest staff I have encountered at a hotel. And I mean all staff day and night clerks and cleaning staff. Clean comfortable rooms and common areas. The only negatives were I had asked for a late check out, but twice the cleaning person was at my door (even with a do not disturb door hanger), and I was called by the front desk to ask if I was checking out. The other negative is you need to bring your own sugar substitute if you want something other than sugar or sweet-n-low for your coffee. Both are truly minor issues, yet are things that matter to me. But, I would recommend as a great moderate priced hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimefox, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
livinlife6204,

I will first start with the most important thing here, and that is a great big I'M SORRY! I am pretty sure I know exactly who you are, and even though there is not an excuse for it, this is what happened. When you arranged for the late check out, it was not a problem at all, what was the problem, was that we wrote down the wrong room number! This didn't click with the front desk, until after we had realized that we had bothered you, for the 3rd time (soooo soooo sorry). This should never have happened and like I said, had we written down the correct room number, it definitely wouldn't have. With hotels doing express check outs, it is often that housekeeping does not know when the guest has left their room and often guests leave and forget to take the do not disturb signs off. But like I said, it shouldn't have happened and I can promise you, it won't happen the next time you stay with us.

And now for the fun, positive stuff ~ thank you so much for sharing with us, and all the other readers, your kind comments about my staff and hotel. The staff here, truly loves what they do and I am glad that this is how it is perceived through a guest's eyes too.

I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Vancouver. Please ask to speak to me, so I can put a face with a review.

Kim Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    33
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
35
28
14
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

The staff and management are great. I felt like part of the family. I travel a lot and stay at Holiday Inn Express mostly and this is the best of them all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimefox, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
knightbandit,

By the looks of your picture, this must be Brian! Thank you for your kind comments, and coming back to stay with your "family on the road". The whole staff was pleased to see you again and I thank you so much for sharing such kind comments.

Hope to see you again. Take care~

Kim Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Very nice place with very clean standards, safe location, good breakfast, nice manager reception during weekdays, and staff is incredible.
My husband borrowed my phone charger out of my car and forgot to put it back, I mentioned that I was going to have to buy a new one and the front desk assistant Tammy asked what kind of phone I had and it ended up she had the same charger. She called her husband and had him bring me a charger to borrow during my stay. Amazing customer service.
Kim, the manager, was so friendly and full of information. She had great suggestions for dinner and anything I needed.
I was there for a business trip and due to the customer service, I have now arranged for our entire franchise to stay there when in Vancouver.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimefox, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
butterflymegan,

First I would like to thank you for your feedback; we are pleased to hear that your stay with us went well.

Our facility is designed for guest's convenience and comfort, and above all, safety. I am pleased to hear that you felt we achieved all of these goals, during your stay with us.

Regarding our Team Members, they are always happy to help you make the most of your stay and we always like to hear when something we did specifically for a guest, meant a lot to the guest too!

We look forward to welcoming you, and the rest of your co-workers, back to our hotel. Thank you, again, for your kind comments.

Kim Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Professional, helpful, nothing was too much trouble. CLEAN and a perfect price

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Stayed here for one night on our way north after stays at four other HIEs on the I-5 corridor. As others have noted, this is a new property, comfortable and well located for business/shopping in the Vancouver area. Staff was friendly and polite, breakfast the usual tasty HIE fare. One disconcerting note: I had planned to enjoy a bath, but the tub had a noticeable ring of dead skin or other matter. Ugh! Took a cautious shower instead, trying to contact as little of the tub surface as possible. I know housekeeping staff is given very little time to clean rooms, but try to do a better job here, please!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimefox, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North, responded to this review, September 30, 2010
As explained to the TA reviewer in a personal email, the film found in the tub was actually the cleaning agent we were using. The creamy, non abrasive product we were using, was leaving a film on the tub wall, that was only visible when the tub was completely dry. We have since discontinued this product and found a more acceptable agent for the daily cleaning of the tubs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puyallup
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

This is the best holiday Inn Express in Washington and Oregon. I travel up and down the I-5 corridor and this is the one I rate best. I always stay here when I do business in Portland because of Kim and her staff. The rooms are very well taken care of and they just do an excellent Job.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimefox, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
mgmpuyallup,

Thank you for your kind words! We know you have many choices when you come to town and we truly appreciate that you choose us. Again, thank you, and I hope we see you again soon.

Kim Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Beach, OR
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We only stayed one night but were very happy with our room and the service. When we checked in they were so friendly and accommodating. We were asked if we needed help with finding a restaurant and they had information on them if you wanted. They served wine and beer in the evening and had soup available also. The room was very comfortable as well as the bed. Breakfast was fine with scrambled eggs, breads, and fruit. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimefox, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
Thank you so much for your kind words! We truly love what we do here and are happy to offer you the best service we possibly can. I know that you have many choices when you come to the Vancouver area, we thank you sooooo much for choosing us! Hope to see you again soon.

Kim
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North

Address: 7205 NE 41st Street, Vancouver, WA 98662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at our Hotel in Vancouver, Washington. Situated in the heart of Vancouver, our hotel's located near Portland, making it a premier place to stay for business and leisure travelers to the Portland-Vancouver metropolitan area. Guests can appreciate our convenient location within minutes of restaurants, shopping, movie theaters and corporate offices. If you're staying with us on business, then the Holiday Inn Express® Vancouver Portland North hotel's accommodations near Portland are sure to please. Feel free to take advantage of our 24-hour Business Center, which offers fax, copy, e-mail and print services. In addition, free high-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel, so you can catch up on work from the comfort of your room. Every room has a microwave oven, refrigerator, flat screen TV and DVD player. From the Clark County Amphitheater to the Columbia River Gorge, our hotel's convenient location in Vancouver, Washington has it all. Spend the day shopping at the Westfield Shopping Center or have fun learning at the Fort Vancouver National Historic Site. And, since our hotel's near Portland, you're just minutes away from all this metropolitan area has to offer. The Holiday Inn Express® hotel offers a number of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Stop in each morning and enjoy our Express Start Breakfast Bar. We offer items like eggs, bacon or sausage or sausage gravy & biscuits, our signature cinnamon rolls and many more items, to start your day off right. Monday-Thursday evenings, we have a Manager's Reception, with complimentary beer, wine and soup bar and we have set up many discounts & complimentary food items with several area restaurants. Remember, we have the name you trust at a price you can afford so come be our guest tonight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.