We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shhhh...it's a secret!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heathman Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Heathman Lodge to your Saves list
Heathman Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7801 N.E. Greenwood Drive, Vancouver, WA 98662   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shhhh...it's a secret!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We have always used Vancouver, WA as a low-key, affordable source for lodging that is within striking distance of Portland. And we have always gotten pretty much what we paid for - until our stay at the Heathman Lodge. This place is comfy, homey and really well run. You are greeted by a majestic lobby that is a tribute to real American log building, appointed with a set of genuine Andy Warhol "Wild West Series" prints. The room was clean and well equipped with no noise from adjacent rooms. My only beef was the shower which had pathetic pressure and a cheap head - a chronic problem in hotels these days. So go ahead and visit this place if you're ever in need of a room in the Portland area- but do me a favor and don't go blabbing it to all your friends; let it be our little secret ;-)

Green Features: As is so often the case in the Northwest, this hotel has excellent environmental practices and policies.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tknofile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Enjoyed the business class upgrade. The appetizers and breakfast were worth it. Our room was very spacious and nice. Our kids enjoyed it as well and the swimming pool. We ordered room service and the food was very delicious.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Schell75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Heathman Lodge was our best stay on a 10 day trip. Good location near Portland and excellent room, restaurant and bar. Would love to stay again. Relaxing atmosphere, wonderful staff. The lodge atmosphere made you feel like you were in a mountain lodge.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BadRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed on the 4th floor, the Business Level, of the Heathman Lodge for three nights. Initially we were booked in for two nights, but it was so pleasant that we stayed another night.

- Good access to day trips to Portland and Mt. St. Helens
- Plenty of free parking
- Both rooms excellent in all respects - quiet, with comfortable temperature and a good quiet A/C, great bed, good furniture, nice bathroom, fast and steady free wi-fi
- Everything was spotless
- No noises from upper floors for guests on the 4th floor
- Exclusive access for 4th floor guests to business breakfast room - generous and tasty
- Free wine, beer and snacks for business guests every afternoon in private reception area
- Complimentary daily paper of choice delivered to room
- Very good restaurant on site, Hudson’s Bar & Grill - a pleasure to eat there
- Live piano performances at night in lounge

The hotel would seem to be a normal hotel, but in fact it is filled with some quite amazing original Western-themed art, including restored canoes, murals, Pendleton blankets, sculptures and even numbered Andy Warhol prints. It is a feast for the eyes. The Western theme extends from the rooms to the imposing wood beams and carvings of which the hotel has been constructed.

The reception staff at the Heathman Lodge were a pleasure to deal with - friendly, helpful, and efficient. They arranged taxis for us into Portland, and when we wanted to stay another night, they got us another 4th floor room, and upgraded us for free to a huge corner suite.

The hotel seemed popular and there were multiple conferences running while we were there, and the reception area was always buzzing. Now we know why.

Room Tip: 4th floor Business Level
See more room tips
Green Features: These were visible all over the premises. They are obviously proud of their efforts.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chez-Mob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We always love our stays at The Heathman Lodge. So relaxing and fun. Like our "Home Away From Home". Thanks so much! The whole staff is awesome! We also enjoy our times at Hudson's, as well. So friendly!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I'm currently in the midst of a 3-night stay, and have found much to like about this property. The entire hotel... from the outside, to the lobby, to the rooms is in great condition and is very attractive. The rooms are HUGE (much larger than a typical hotel room), have free internet, a good sized mini-refrigerator (about 2x as big as standard), free parking, and they even have FREE laundry machines available (almost unheard of). We also appreciate it having 2 queen beds (many hotels only offer 2 doubles... and there's plenty of floor space despite having 2 larger beds due to the size of the room). Pool area is attractive. Haven't tried the bar/restaurant yet (but it looks nice), and the front desk staff was very friendly. This was a much cheaper option than a downtown Portland property... and a good base from which to explore the area (the immediate area is very nice too, with lots of shopping and restaurants).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grram1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chugiak
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I found the service, my room, and the amenities uniformly excellent. The room was clean, well lighted, and maintained at a comfortable temperature and the mattress on my bed was extraordinarily comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vancouver
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Vancouver
4.4 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vancouver Mall Dr. Hotel & Suites
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Portland North/Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathman Lodge

Address: 7801 N.E. Greenwood Drive, Vancouver, WA 98662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heathman Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to express the beauty and spirit of the Pacific Northwest, the Heathman Lodge brings the splendor of the outdoors into the city of Vancouver. The rustic charm of our mountain-like retreat, enhanced by modern urban amenities and exceptional service, creates a lodging atmosphere that is both peaceful and productive. Let the Heathman Lodge be your hotel of choice when visiting or meeting in Vancouver, Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Heathman Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathman Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing