We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Columbia Street, Vancouver, WA 98660   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Vancouver
San Marcos, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This hotel has a nice view on the river; however, there isn't much else going for it. The hotel is going to be torn down in the future for a new bridge so I guess renovating the hotel is not going to happen. We changed our room so that we were not facing the train tracks all night. The train does run all night and day. Beds and room were fine and clean; but again, stuck in the seventies. The hotel staff are very nice and helpful and the food at the restaurant at night is excellent. The breakfast unfortunately left a lot to be desired and on two days they were understaffed so service was very slow. If you want to do things in Portland, this is not the hotel to stay at as it is not near the city of Portland and the town of Vancouver is cute but very little to do there.

Room Tip: Stay in a room near the river, not the tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    75
    64
    42
    33
See reviews for
53
54
19
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel could be fabulous. It has fantastic views of the Columbia River. The bad news is the hotel is in some serious need of updating. carpets in the hall way are dirty and worn and can feel maze like. The rooms are standard to on the smaller side also a little sated and worn but clean. The pool area is great, my kids did enjoyed it. Location is another story, it sits on the river between just shy of being under the I 5 bridge and the train tracks down town Vancouver. The up side is they are within walking distance to a few more restaurants and the walk is beautiful once you pass the bridge. Staff is friendly and seemed willing to help when needed. All in all it was OK but not what I would consider a 3 star property until there has been some updates to it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The location of this hotel is good. It's right on the river, walking path and restaurants nearby. During the day I found it noisy with planes and trains. It quieted down at night. My biggest complaint was that my door did not lock. I didn't find this out until I went to get breakfast and checked the door as I left. All you had to do was push on it and you were in my room. The front desk personnel moved me to a new room, but I found out that they allowed someone else to stay in that room without the door being fixed. I told the housekeeper about the situation and she called maintenance immediately. Be sure to check your doors when staying at this older hotel.

Room Tip: The pool wasn't open, so rooms facing it would have been the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

One word, "Nasty!". We weren't expecting much from the Red Lion chain. Stayed at the Missoula Red Lion, which was a joke. We needed a pet friendly hotel for our 115 lbs horse that we call the family dog. I use to live in Vancouver and this specific hotel is located in the armpit. With that in mind, you can only imagine the less than wholesome people roaming the property. We arrived and were greeted with a full parking lot to include four buses full of teens and young adults getting ready to check in. I stood in the parking lot (after spending awhile trolling for a spot) and watched as 2 mischievous teens prepared their great escape by attempting to remove the window screen from their THIRD floor window. All I could say was, "f@&$". Checked in and was given roundabout directions to our room. Found the room to be located next to the candy and ice machines. I'm still wondering if the PWT woman finally got her hot tamales after accusing the helpless machine of theft. Found the room to be outdated and smelly. But what should I expect for a pet room. We got tucked in and everything was well. Idiots teens in room 120 decided to have themselves a party to include giggling teenage girls and music. I complained to the front desk at 0100am. Security arrived And nothing changed. I complained a 2nd time. Better threat of removal made by security, but same result. Party ended around 0300. We were finally about to get some rest when the occupants in the room above felt it necessary to rearrange the furniture and go outside to smoke every half hour. I guess my rant just illustrates the fact that the walls are paper thin. Didn't feel bad when my 18 month old woke up at 0750 and was being loud. We actually encouraged her. Needless to say we got out of that place as soon as we could. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Go to the Hilton up the street. Better yet just keep driving and don't look back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

HORRIBLE. Upon entering the room looked clean, however, when I pulled the blanket back to get in bed, it was obvious that someone just made the bed, and didn't bother changing the sheets from the previous occupant. DISGUSTING. During my one night stay, I found two spiders crawling on the bed and on me. The shower head of all things was terribly powerful. While showering I had to shield some areas from getting hit. It hurt that bad. The room looks like one you'd see on a prostitution sting video. Like I said, the only thing good about my stay was the gorgeous view of the Columbia River.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We got a good deal through Priceline for this queen room ($55 name your own price). Needed someplace to stay in Vancouver for an overnight. After submitting a "name-your-own price" and finding out it was this hotel I wasn't sure what to expect. The pictures don't leave a lot to be desired.

We were pleasantly surprised after check-in. The front desk staff were very friendly, the room was clean, and we got a good room location with a river view. About 30 minutes after getting to our room we got an in-room call to check to see that the room suited our needs and if we needed anything else. We've never had that, even at 4 star hotels.

The location is right on the river and with the sun shining it was a great place to spend the warm evening.

The bath products are bio-degradable and they offered ear plugs.

The only cons would be that there were only 3 very soft pillows, it's right next to the active railroad, the hallways are a bit dated, and the housekeeping staff were not super friendly. No smiles or hello's as I've seen with other hotels. None of these were deal breakers considering we weren't using the room for something special, just a place to sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are more next to the railroad. West and south rooms will have a water view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

An older hotel that is showing its age. Room rates were pretty high with that in mind. Parking more difficult than expected with all the activities in the bar plus prom night, etc. We had to park on the street. Room was clean and we were fortunate to be at the end of the hallway considering there was a Prom going on and was very noisy. Would stay there again as it was easy access to and from the interstate.

Room Tip: Do not plan on breakfast as it begins pretty late (7:AM) in the morning for a business traveler or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay

Address: 100 Columbia Street, Vancouver, WA 98660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay is located on the Columbia River in Vancouver, Washington. The hotel is less than a mile west of the Interstate Bridge on the I-5 on the Washington/Oregon border. It is easily accessed from the I-5, travelling North or South (EXIT 1-C). In addition to waterfront guest rooms, meeting and event space, the Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay also features a full service Restaurant and Lounge with live music every Friday and Saturday night. The cover charge is free to our hotel guests. The Renaissance Trail, which runs alongside the hotel property, paralell to the river, is a four mile paved path for your choice of walking, jogging, cycling or strolling. Esther Short Park and the Vancouver Farmer's Market are also in walking distance from the hotel. Besides the Quay Restaurant and Bar, there are many other great Restaurant choices close by. There are countless options for local shopping from antique stores in downtown Vancouver to the Vancouver Mall to Portland's metropolitan shopping experience. We are only a ten minute drive from downtown Portland and fifteen minutes from the Portland International Airport. We do offer a free shuttle to and from the PDX Airport and the Vancouver Amtrak station. Our hotel features 160 guest rooms, including two Riverview suites with Jetted tubs and one suite with a full kitchen. Many of our rooms offer an exquisite view of the Columbia River and year round access to the River Deck. We have a heated outdoor pool for seasonal use with an ADA lift making the pool accessible to all of our guests. We have a guest computer, printer, onsite laundry, an exercise room, vending machines and newspapers available for guest use. Each room has free internet access, a refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and ample amenities to ensure comfort throughout your stay. We are excited to present a crisp new look with our recently upgraded bedding. Our neatly made pillow top beds look more inviting than ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Vancouver
Red Lion Vancouver
Vancouver Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.