We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad beds” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Columbia Street, Vancouver, WA 98660   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Vancouver
Spokane Valley, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad beds”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We used a Queen size Non-smoking room. The personnel were friendly and efficient. The room was a bit claustrophobic because of oversized furniture and the bed was way too saggy in the middle. The fitted sheets did not fit on the pillow topped mattress so half way through the night all 4 corners were bunched up in the middle of the bed. Also, housekeeping had to pull the blanket so far down to tuck it under the foot of the mattress that it would only come up about shoulder height. All in all, the price was okay but very unsatisfactory for the quality of sleep that we did not get!

Room Tip: Best rate was found online
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    84
    69
    43
    34
See reviews for
54
61
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I am a single guy that travels all over the United States for employment,I am with the International Bricklayers Union Of North America,And it is in my best interest to research and locate the best deals available to me,With that being said,I am totally flabbergasted as to the Hospitality and kindness that all of the staff has showed me since my arrival at The Red Lion At The Quay,See i am a conneieseur when it comes to recognizing a great deal when i see one,See i am here to make money and be resourceful not spend it on expensive over priced hotels ,And that is the purpose for my review,I checked in on 1/9/11,And that is when my great experience started,There were a couple of managers by the names of Patrick and Cindy That went out of there way to accomidate my needs and request for a peaceful and private stay,They Put me in a wonderful spotless room overlooking the Beautiful Columbia River,It is very clean and spacious,For a man to be away(MICHIGAN) from his friends and family,It meant so much to me,For them to give me that sense of caring and kindness in which i have never experienced at that level before,And feel as if it is my responsibility as an adult to share this with you, Because when it is bad i am the first to address the establishments as to what i feel is wrong with the misrepresentation in regards to my extended stays,And am sharing this feedback So that you two can experience the wonderful birds eye view of the Columbia river and the most fulfilling stay in the wonderful State Of Washington at an affordable rate,They have the most wonderful happy hour menu in which one could hope for,And there seating in the restaurant actually hangs over the river for the most amazing dinner experience one would ever hope for! I was so impressed to find a reasonably Priced hotel that has live entertainment and great sweeping views of the Columbia river at an Affordable rate,And a staff that goes above and beyond the call of duty to please there guest,Then i think the Red Lion would be a great choice, Good Luck in your quest to find happiness and creating great memories in all of your travels!, sincerely Todd Naples

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Dog-friendly. We travel with 2 happy little pups and we all liked going for our hikes from this location along waterfront, and to farmer's market. Train noise is outside but not once we were in our room, by the way. We liked seeing trains, planes, and sailboats all at once, yet it isn't on a busy street nor does it lead immediately on to main streets. Tucked away so it feels a tad rural. Comfortable bedding and bed, soft towels, very nice. Breakfast is boring and dinner is expensive, but sitting in that wonderful dining room is the reason to take at least one meal there. Great views of the lights of Portland at night and so on. Simple exercise area was fun, but the pool was closed. No hassle WIFI. Burgerville is not too far.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Just back from the Red Lion at the Quay and have to tell you that it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, the room we had overlooked the river and was large and comfortable and clean, the beds were very comfortable, the housekeeping staff went out of their way to get us what we wanted. Overall, a great stay. We brought our dogs and found large grassy areas to walk in the morning and then along the river for a longer walk. Restaurant food was really good! And happy hour was a real deal. The one issue was that the key cards were not reliable and to be returned for new ones. This certainly didn't change our overall opinion of this hotle.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I didn't chose this hotel but was given this hotel through Priceline. Hotel is not as bad as some of the reviews have described. It is clean and basic but just a bit dated.

Service was poor. When we checked in at the front desk, I asked if we can request a King Size bed, Lisa from front desk said "you can't choose your room because you booked through Priceline." She did ended up giving us a king size bed room but gave us a disgusted look. She made us felt we were second class customers. The room she ended up giving us was next to the elevator and the ice machine.

We have a little baby and phoned Lisa from front desk to see if they have a kettle so we can make hot water for the baby formula. Lisa said there is no such thing and we just have to do without. I felt that was not an acceptable response so I asked to talk to the manager on duty. The manager offered to send us some hot water from the restaurant. The hot water did arrive 15 minutes later, however, they used a coffee thermal to put the hot water so the hot water was brown and flavoured with coffee. We didn't bother complaining again as we know they will do nothing about it.

Overall, the room itself is acceptable, it is basic and clean. They provide shampoo, conditioner and a soap in the bathroom. There was no lotion or shower cap which are usually the standard in most hotels. Breakfast is $7.95 and water in the room is $2.

I feel that if the hotel doesn't like Priceline customers, they should just opt out from this program so they only get "expensive" customers. If I can avoid it, I will probably not go back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

The reviews of this hotel are all over the map but our experience was at the higher end of the spectrum. Our room was clean and relatively modern. The rooms aren't as large as at the Hilton but definitely adequate enough for us. There was a slight oder as mentioned elsewhere - this was the only drawback we found. We had a view of the river and a parking lot from our room.

The hotel has a fun bar that was really hopping on a Saturday night with live music. We had breakfast at the popular hotel restaurant in the morning as well - the decor and views were wonderful and the food was fine. Parking is free here unlike at the Hilton a few blocks away. Wi-fi is free for all guests here as well. The entrance to the property is pretty hideous but easily overlooked by the other benefits.

Given the inexpensive rate we received on Priceline we were very happy with our stay at the Red Lion and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

There is no elevator in the main lobby, only a staircase. In order to get to the only elevator you have to be able to walk, pulling your cart of luggage, down long hallways to reach the small elevator in which the cart will barely fit. (Good luck if you want to get 2 bodies in too.) Then you have to drag the luggage cart all the way back down the long hallways to where your room is located. There was ONE handicap parking space in the whole parking lot. A very small ramp is provided that requires some careful maneuvering to use. I don't know how they've avoided being sued by the ADA.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionQuay, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
Thank you for choosing The Quay during your recent visit to Vancouver and for your helpful feedback. Most of our hotel, including the lobby, is located over the Columbia River which creates an engineering challenge for our elevator location. It needed to be on solid ground to be safely built & operated (unfortunately, not in the lobby area). I am sorry my staff was not more helpful pointing out our several handicap parking spaces on the east, central and west parts of our parking lot. I will look into possible improvements to our front entryway to provide easier access to our lobby. I appreciate your feedback and hope that you will try us again sometime.
Patrick Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay

Address: 100 Columbia Street, Vancouver, WA 98660
Location: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay is located on the Columbia River in Vancouver, Washington. The hotel is less than a mile west of the Interstate Bridge on the I-5 on the Washington/Oregon border. It is easily accessed from the I-5, travelling North or South (EXIT 1-C). In addition to waterfront guest rooms, meeting and event space, the Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay also features a full service Restaurant and Lounge with live music every Friday and Saturday night. The cover charge is free to our hotel guests. The Renaissance Trail, which runs alongside the hotel property, paralell to the river, is a four mile paved path for your choice of walking, jogging, cycling or strolling. Esther Short Park and the Vancouver Farmer's Market are also in walking distance from the hotel. Besides the Quay Restaurant and Bar, there are many other great Restaurant choices close by. There are countless options for local shopping from antique stores in downtown Vancouver to the Vancouver Mall to Portland's metropolitan shopping experience. We are only a ten minute drive from downtown Portland and fifteen minutes from the Portland International Airport. We do offer a free shuttle to and from the PDX Airport and the Vancouver Amtrak station. Our hotel features 160 guest rooms, including two Riverview suites with Jetted tubs and one suite with a full kitchen. Many of our rooms offer an exquisite view of the Columbia River and year round access to the River Deck. We have a heated outdoor pool for seasonal use with an ADA lift making the pool accessible to all of our guests. We have a guest computer, printer, onsite laundry, an exercise room, vending machines and newspapers available for guest use. Each room has free internet access, a refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and ample amenities to ensure comfort throughout your stay. We are excited to present a crisp new look with our recently upgraded bedding. Our neatly made pillow top beds look more inviting than ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Vancouver
Red Lion Vancouver
Vancouver Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.