We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite restaurant in uptown Vancouver” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bottega

La Bottega
1905 Main St, Vancouver, WA 98660-2634
360-571-5010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 595 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Winery
Restaurant details
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A favorite restaurant in uptown Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We eat both lunch & dinner here often. There isn't much to rave about in the smallish town of Vancouver so this place really stands out. Tuesday nights you get any bottle of wine under $50 - 2 for the price of one - off a very long list. The food is creative and artfully done - especially the sea bass.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is probably the best value in Vancouver and the best quality of food..........and SERVICE in the entire metro area.

The dining area is in between what looks to be a deli area and a wine shop, on the other side. This is cool!!! The casual nature of the place calms you, and the quality of the food and service really excites you.

Try the gorgonzola cheese cake as an appetizer.............the ceasar salad.............the olives............any of the pastas (YUM!)...................the fish and shellfish dishes..............and the desserts (especially the chocolate zuchini cake). The red meat dishes have been hit or miss for us, but mostly miss lately; however everything else of the menu is fantastic.

Let's talk about the service. It is spectacular! Every server that we have had is a professional and knows the menu and the extensive wine list. And, everyone one of them have been very friendly, personal, fun to be around, etc. We feel like family there.......... Our faces are known when we walk in and we are treated "much better than family". HA!

After you enjoy your meal, wine, and service, don't forget to do a little shopping. The wine selections are great for Italian wines and there is a discount (40% I believe) on purchases when you have dinner there.

Go to this place once, and you will be back many times!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Food, Excellent Wine List”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is Vancouver's best "cafe deli" if you like single plate Italian specialties, and they've also got the best wine list for Italian wines I've seen in a small place. I like the fact that they offer smaller versions of practically everything, I love the food but moderation is necessary to maintain my svelte figure ! ! ! No bread is served with lunch, which both helps my weight concerns and takes away a little from the meal. There ain't no such thing as a free lunch.

Home made pasta, especially great ravioli, and I return again to the great wine list. The service can be a little slow when they're busy, and louder than my wife cares for but not excessively so. Great selection of interesting and tasty sandwiches.

Good food, reasonable prices and great wine.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We were here on May 31st before attending an archeological talk at Ft. Vancouver that evening. We really LOVED the foods we sampled (yummy baked polenta, for ex.) but two things: 1) we had to request a happy hr menu--it wasn't offered upfront and our waittress seemed too busy (or officious? Too cool?) to follow through on small things, like bringing us a dinner menu to review. We did see our neighbors getting better service.
Highlight: the fluffy chevre cheesecake had honey in the crust. WOW. Outstanding, will try to make something close myself.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Vancouver Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I went here for dinner with my mom and daughter. I heard it was a nice place to eat that was a little on the expensive side but I was happy to get the dinner menu and not be turned off by the prices. Most of the pasta dishes were about $9 for a small size and about $15 for the larger option. The entrees were about $18-30.

I ordered the Primaveli (spelling?) Great dish. The bread there was AWESOME! I love the atmosphere there and would definitely recommend it for a good Italian meal. Much more authtic than Olive Garden!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bottega also viewed

 

Been to La Bottega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bottega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.