We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost reservation, cramped seating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Doe's Eat Place

Doe's Eat Place
422 N 3rd St, Fort Smith, AR 72901-1410
479-784-9111
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 208 Restaurants in Fort Smith
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Doe's Eat Place is the premier place for Steaks and has one of the largest selections of wine in the area. Doe's is located in the historic Joseph Knoble's Brewery which is on the national historic registry and was built in 1848.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lost reservation, cramped seating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Started off rough we no record of a confirmed reservation for 10!! Thank goodness our party had shrunk to 7. We went to the bar for a drink while they prepped our table. Turns out our table was to be in the bar with 7 big boy men around 2 square tables pushed together. A bit cramped.

Food was as expected; tamales were good while chili was bland, no sauces on table or offered; larger than life rib eyes with pretty good flavor. At these prices tho, they should upgrade from plastic plates and get real steak knives.

Will go back only if customer wants to.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
talihina
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“33rd Anniversary dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I have eaten here before and knew the steaks were excellent. This time I tried the tamale appetizer ( don't bother ) they were dry and nothing to write home about.. The salad is a small bowl of lettuce and no effort put in it. I also had the boiled red potato's which were good after I cut them in half and buttered and salt and peppered them. We ordered a crab bisque which server forgot to bring until after our main course was served and then she asked if there was anything else she could do and I mentioned the bisque and she said oh yea and went to kitchen and brought it out.
(Again don't bother unless you like the over powering taste of corn). Needless to say we didn't eat it. Now for the steak we ordered a 2 pound Porterhouse and it was cooked Medium as we asked and had good flavor. The biscuits are dropped in oil and fried. The steak and the old building ambiance are really the only things going for this place.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Went there last night. The building is very cool. Stone walls, uneven floors. It has a lot of character. It wasn't very crowded on a Monday night, so it might get noisy if every table were full.

The hostess and server were friendly. The server was excellent. Checked back with us, made recommendations.

The menu is odd. They have steaks on the menu and a few seafood items but the steaks are huge. You choose how many pounds the steak will be and the minimum on anything other than a filet is 1 1/2 pounds. Sounds like too much but when the steak came it was perfect. Done correctly and very flavorful. All of the sudden the 1 1/2 pound steak was no more.

Overall great restaurant. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Buren, AR
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Their sirloin steak is to die for. Mushrooms are so good you will crave them all the time. Excellant place to eat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Steak.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

First time at Doe's Eat Place, best Rib eye steak, it was juicy and the tasted was perfect. The tamales were delicious. Nice selection of Beer and Wine. The restaurant location is in a beautiful old brewery. This is the restaurant I will dine when I visit Fort Smith, Arkansas for now on.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doe's Eat Place also viewed

 

Been to Doe's Eat Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doe's Eat Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.