We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must see this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Laura's Social Club

Miss Laura's Social Club
2 North B Street, Fort Smith, AR 72901
479-928-5990
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Activities in Fort Smith
Type: Tours, Specialty Shops, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“You must see this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had so much fun here! We were greeted by someone truly knowledgeable and passionate about the history of this town and this club. She shared info in a way to make it suitable for the age of the child with you. There was so much interesting history and the volunteers were better then any staff I've even seen at a tourist attraction. Truly amazing people that made this one of the highlights of our vacation. Check out the gift shop.. there is some really great stuff. We got a cookbook for only $8 originally published in 1920. We've had a great time cooking recipes from it and laughing at the various ways of discribing measures of ingredients.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You'll Never Forget Miss Laura!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

A trip to Ft. Smith specifically or Arkansas in general would not be complete without a visit to Miss Laura's Social Club. The first-ever (only?) brothel listed on the National Register of Historic Places, it now serves as the city's official visitor information center. Volunteer guides do a great job of sharing the history of the authentically restored and decorated building. If you're lucky, CVB staffer Carolyn Joyce will be there to greet you in the likeness of Miss Laura herself. This is a don't-miss stop on the way to Bentonville, home of the new Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art which is absolutely amazing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Our first stop in Fort Smith”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stopped here first on the recommendation of a Trolley driver in Little Rock who was from Fort Smith. Very interesting piece of history which was very well presented by our volunteer guide.
The building is amazingly restored with many interesting details. Listening to the history of the building and the area was a fun way to spend an hour. Highly recommended point of interest.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always interested in History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Well presented restoration of a period in history that seemed to be so wild and dangerous. This museum has many interesting stories that were very well told by our volunteer guide. He made the stop fun and also educational. What a great way to get out of your car and relax for an hour.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabot, Arkansas
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
109 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“OK this is a gotta go....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The history the mystery and the people make this a must stop and see in Fort Smith. Some of the best guides I have ever seen. The house is well cared for and just what they went through to save it and make it a part of the history of the west in worth the stop.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Laura's Social Club also viewed

 

Been to Miss Laura's Social Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Laura's Social Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.