We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to miss the guacamole!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rolando's Nuevo Latino Restaurante

Rolando's Nuevo Latino Restaurante
223 Garrison Avenue, Fort Smith, AR 72901
479 573-0404
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 216 Restaurants in Fort Smith
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not to miss the guacamole!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We eat here all the time since it is close to work. I love the tortilla soup, and make sure you have the guacamole, it is delicious and I could easily eat only this for a meal!!
For lunch the chicken quesadillas are amazing with the tortilla soup, and the sweet tea is divine.
For dinner I normally get the blackened tilapia. Delicious!
Their desserts are amazing too, I love the key lime pie.
The decor here is cute, and it would be good for a special occasion, lunch, or even a family dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    33
    8
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Quaint restaurant, with a bit of extra seating in the basement, not gloomy. Not much in the way of traditional. The salsa that they serve with the complimentary chips is less on the sauce and heavy on the corn, beans, and tomatoes. They are many of unique dishes to try. The drinks were well done, especially their famous mojito. The sizes are good. If you get an entree though, dessert is probably not an option. My husband got Pollo Bohemio as an entree and I got Joses' Quesadillas as an appetizer. (it is also served as an entree). This allowed us to enjoy the quesadillas instead of paying a split plate charge ($5) and still have enough room for Rolando's Banana, ice cream with bananas with a cinnamon sauce. Everything was excellent. Really liked both dinner dishes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience in a small place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had dinner with my son and his family. It was a Saturday night and place was packed but we were seated swiftly even though we did not have reservations. I'm not even sure thet take them. Our drink orders were taken within 5 minutes of our being seated and appetizers within 15. While menu is not extensive it is more than adequate. The chips and salsa are made from scratch as well as everything else served in RNLR. I had the Popeye Burrito (chunks of grilled chicken, spinach and cheese baked in a soft burrito covered with a light, tangy, smoke sause) served with black beans over white rice. Excellent presentation and taste was incredible. Complimented the meal with a margarita (on the rocks; no salt)which while good was not up to par with the food. Never-the-less, I highly recommend Rolando's for it's food, service and atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Road Jem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

What A Find.

My friends and I were traveling through Fort Smith, AR and went by Rolando’s. As we went by we decided to drive around as it is at an intersection. We all agreed to try it because it looked like a nice place.

What a find and as we like to call them a ROAD JEM! The place has a great look and a setting that if you let yourself, could put you in many Latin American cities. The service and staff were great. The place is very clean. And then there is the food. I am a simple eater and asked if I could have a meal more to my liking. My meal was as requested and very good. But my friends who enjoy a more full taste had two different meals. I do not remember what one of my friends ordered, but the tilapia was ordered and passed around after one bite and described as the best ever enjoyed. We had a great experience here and would highly recommend this jem for any occasion.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Delicious guacamole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Authentic Ecuadoran food with prominent use of rice, roasted pork, green onions, shrimp and avocado. Consistently excellent food and service with a great little bar in the back for casual date nights

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rolando's Nuevo Latino Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Rolando's Nuevo Latino Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rolando's Nuevo Latino Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.