We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but filthy, horrible service, and no amenities” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fort Smith Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fort Smith Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Smith Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Rogers Avenue, Fort Smith, AR 72902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Fort Smith
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location, but filthy, horrible service, and no amenities”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I've just completed a very disappointing stay and I must say the complete lack of professionalism, unavailability of room service or basic amenities, shoddy room housekeeping, and lack of upkeep of the hallways and common areas made this experience feel more like a motel 6 than a Marriott.

There was no room service or amenities of any kind Christmas week. We couldn't even get milk initially and had to walk across the street to the Holiday Inn which was much more professional and gave us some milk for free. The attendant seemed pretty clueless about customer service and problem solving for us. Couldn't help us order food from elsewhere since both restaurant and bar were closed all week (when in fact plenty of restaurants nearby were opened) so just left us there to starve with no options. Some of the other front desk attendants are better but we've been incredibly surprised how incompetent and just mentally slow some of the front desk people have been.

We came in one night and were very casually told to watch our steps to avoid the vomit of a sick child. I do appreciate the tip that allowed us to avoid the vomit but the delivery was oddly casual, unapologetic, and generally unexpected for a Mariott

There have been beer bottles and leaves in the hallway of the first floor all week long, and I've even brought it to the attention of the attendants although nothing had been done about it.

Housekeeping has been unbelievable. The house cleaners have gone through each morning but they have done little else besides bring new towels. The beds weren't even made much less sheets changed. The floor in the bedroom and bathroom have not been vacuumed and new soap and shampoo was not brought.

I called at 8pm sunday night to ask that some soap be brought up to our room since housekeeping hasn't replenished it in the last several days and was told I could come pick some up at the front desk. When I replied that the attendant could bring it my room there was silence then a reply that housekeeping had left. There appears to be one employee at this huge hotel most of the week and she literally leaves the front desk unattended when she needs to deliver things to rooms such as this.

Worst Marriott stay ever. The Holiday Inn next door looks newly renovated, more upscale, much better staffed, and cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmbowman, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Smith Downtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
On behalf of the entire hotel, I wanted to say how sincerely sorry we were that your stay was so unsatisfactory. We pride ourselves on a high level of product and service, so we are disappointed that we did not meet this expectation. I have taken your comments and shared them with the entire staff. Thank you for providing valuable feedback that we can use to improve future performance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    53
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
46
23
9
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami ok
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We recently stayed at this Courtyard only because our friends were staying there. It was great. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Our room had a King Size bed, sofa, large flat screen tv, refrigerator, large bathroom. The shower pressure was very good. The room was very clean. The bathroom was spotless. The only complaint I would have and it would not keep me from staying there is when people are going in and out of their rooms, the doors are very loud, enough to wake us up. (but I think people let them slam shut).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great location for us as we were in town on vacation to visit the historic Ft. Smith and take in the trolly and national cemetery. Since we arrived on Sunday when the hotel does not provide any food service, the helpful front desk clerk was ready with a list of places close by that were open.

Our room was very nice, although we encountered a yellow jacket in our room we had to dispose of before settling in. It did seem there was some kind of design flaw in the room as the fridge was just sitting in a random location on the floor. What counts is we had a very comfortable nights sleep and would recommend this location to other travelers.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here in October and it was a good stay. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, and staff friendly. If I had to give a negative, it would have been some of the clientele at the hotel, but there was nothing they could do to control that. I would recommend staging a smoking area away from the main door as the smokers made entering and leaving the hotel an unpleasant experience. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I reserved 4 rooms for just one evening for a quick business trip nearby. Our rooms were not close together but I didn't care. The rooms were fine for the evening. Small details were not seen to in the room, tiles missing near tub, phone would not call room to room but for the most part everything was okay. Seems to be the theme of the hotel, just okay. Nothing stands out as any thing but a little less than average for a courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmbowman, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Smith Downtown, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your review! I have addressed your comments with my staff and am looking forward to the opportunity this gives us to improve our product and service. It's reviews like yours that help us become better. Thank you again and please feel free to contact me directly if you have any additional questions or comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Was pleasently surprised. Stopped for one night on the way to Fayettville. One of the nicest Courtyard properties that I have ever stayed. Full service restaurant and bar. Bar had two TV's and bartender was very friendly. Rooms even had ESPNU. Was upgraded to a iacuzzi suite and room was very comfortable. Did not have chance to scope out surrounding area. Right next door to convention center. Food in restaurant was good as well. Would stay here again. Had used points for the stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our second time to stay at this property. Rooms nice size and clean. This weekend was shared with a soccer team who played in the hall until 10:45 PM but after call to desk no more trouble so I must say they took care of noise. Parking was very hard but found they had nice place across street in a deck that worked well. You may want to rethink dinner here as they only serve from 5-8 and only had one very nice lady in kitchen the food was good but not sure it was really homemade. All in all nice place to stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fort Smith Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fort Smith Downtown

Address: 900 Rogers Avenue, Fort Smith, AR 72902
Location: United States > Arkansas > Fort Smith
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Fort Smith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fort Smith Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fort Smith Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fort Smith Downtown Hotel Fort Smith
Fort Smith Courtyard
Fort Smith Marriott
Courtyard Fort Smith Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fort Smith Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.