We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at the very best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AJ's Oyster House

AJ's Oyster House
115 North 10th Street, Fort Smith, AR 72901
479-434-5115
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 218 Restaurants in Fort Smith
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Average at the very best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Just ate at AJ's and was left unimpressed. The building feels right...just as it did when other restaurants were housed here. The service was also good. Sadly, I don't go to a restaurant for the atmosphere, and I only react to service when it's bad. Eating out is about the food and the food here isn't great or even good. My friend and I ordered shrimp po boys. The sandwiches took 27 minutes to arrive. 27 minutes?? For sandwiches where the shrimp (all FOUR of them) were the only things that required cooking. The 9 dollar sandwiches came with decent fries that were hot. Guess it all comes down to this: I'm currently eating a shrimp po boy from a fast food place...it's warm and full of shrimp and came with a side and soda for $6.24. Yep, I was still hungry after AJ's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Van Buren, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great New Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I loved this place! Service and food were great. I got the crawfish étouffée and my husband got shrimp and grits. We both really enjoyed our meals! I would highly recommend it!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Loved It!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Super surprised with this little joint! They have a very nice low priced house salad, delicious fried green tomatoes, & both the oysters on the half shell & the oysters Rockefeller were awesome! Must stop into this sweet little establishment!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great tasting oysters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Make reservations, even on a week night, or sit outside in the heat as we 11 of us did. The place was packed and peeps kept coming. Food was great along with service. Several items I want to come back and try. Very good place overall.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious flavor but small servings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This place hasn't been open very long, so I will probably give it another chance. The service was excellent and the Arkansas Gumbo is really good. However, the Mahdi tacos only have two pinky sized pieces of fish, and the firecracker shrimp were disappointing to a friend who orders them elsewhere. I'm not an oyster fan, so I did not try the fresh ones they are bringing in. Don't order the coleslaw side- it has so little flavor, they might as well call it just raw shredded cabbage. Service was good and place was immaculate, but lunch was $21. Try it and see how u like it. I plan to try again, since I went the first week it opened

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AJ's Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to AJ's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AJ's Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.