We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now Tommy's and Emmy's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emmy's German Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Emmy's German Restaurant
200 N 13th St, Fort Smith, AR 72901-2752
479-242-3669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 216 Restaurants in Fort Smith
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fort Smith, Arkansas,USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Now Tommy's and Emmy's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Emmy's German restaurant has been a staple in Fort Smith over many decades, although the original owners are long gone. Recently it paired itself with Tommy's restaurant which has a similar reputation but more American food. They did a good job renovating a banquet type space. My only complaint is that the lighting is too bright for good atmosphere. We loved eating in the bar for that reason but it is not always open for diners. You can't have a very private conversation here, and you have the feeling that everyone knows everyone else except you! Tommy's is known for catfish and steaks, Emmy's for German food that is actually pretty authenic. The red cabbage is excellent and the food plentiful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“brunch delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Probably the best brunch in Arkansas! You will experience the best value, large selections, and good service in this Fort Smith German restaurant. Did I mention it is served only on Sunday?

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Emmy's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Every year when my 85 year old father in law comes to town he wants to go to Emmy's.... Wonderful food, great wait staff, and an awesome proprietor Joe!!!!! It almost feels like you are eating at home such friendly service but WAY BETTER food!!! Great new beer selection!!!! Thank you to Ginnie our wonderful waitress who made my father in law feel like the most important person in the room and Joe, thanks for the beer!!!! Emmy's rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not enough stomach room!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife came was craving the potato soup and sampler board. (She is 5 months pregnant.) this place never let's me down or even comes close to leaving me hungry. There is no appetite that they cannot accommodate and no length that they will go to to make sure everything is right. If you're on Fort Smith ( downtown) you need to stop in for dinner! It's worth it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Forté Food in Fort Smith”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you’re stopping for the night in Ft. Smith, Arkansas, as we just did, your stay will be greatly enhanced if you spend an evening at Emmy’s German Restaurant. A fairly recent resurrection of a former landmark eating place that endured for more than forty years, this new Emmy’s has preserved the recipes that made the original such a durable success while adding a layer of sophistication that we did not expect to find on the Arkansas/Oklahoma line. The dining room is warmly decorated in Bavarian themes and dimly lit, with the relaxing tones of Sinatra and Michael Buble wafting through.

My rouladen was done perfectly, densely packed with flavorful, paper-thin slices of seasoned beef while my wife’s German rib eye was succulent and cooked correctly to her instruction. The sides of red cabbage and German fries were savory and perfect accompaniments to the beef. The asparagus just could not have been done any better, every bite a delicious, satisfying crunch.

A very gracious, personable and quite experienced lady named Doreen waited our table and took timely and cordial care of us. Owner, Joe Calderera, was quite gracious and solicitous, stopping by our table a couple of times to make sure we were satisfied. Admittedly, on this Thursday night, at a later hour, the place was almost empty but there was no drop-off in service you sometimes find as a late diner.

Lastly, and as anyone who reads Sarge’s reviews knows, the killer qualification for any place I eat is whether or not the beer is sufficiently cold. At Emmy’s it is deliciously, crisply so. Old Sarge left this restaurant a filled, contented man. Do yourself a huge favor if you find yourself in Ft. Smith: Eat at Emmy’s.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emmy's German Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Emmy's German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emmy's German Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.